Manage user settings and preferences

As an administrator, you can configure user settings in Business Central, similar to how individual users can manage their own preferences in the My Settings page.

Get an overview of all users in the Users list, and change individual settings by choosing the User Settings action for the relevant user.

Tip

The User Settings list shows the current settings for each user. To view or edit individual users, choose the View or Edit action.

The User Settings Card page is similar to the My Settings page that each user has access to, and it is a powerful tool for you as the administrator for setting default settings and clearing personalised pages, for example.

Types of user settings

User settings is not the same as user setup, which is about the user as an entity and the user's access in the system. Furthermore, user settings has nothing to do with a user's personalisation, such as lightweight changes to the user interface. User settings determine the predefined settings for each user in various aspects of the way the application presents itself to the user. The following paragraph lists the five types of user settings and preferences that can be set by the individual or centrally by the administrator:

  • Company

    This setting determines the company to be logged into at the next login. A user can have access to multiple companies and can be active in several companies.

  • Role

    The role, or profile, describes the user's function in the company, such as Sales Manager, Bookkeeper, or Purchasing Agent. The profile then determines the user's role centre, the home page that users will see when they sign in. The profile does not impact access rights to functionality in Business Central.

  • Language

    Defines the application language that Business Central presents text, captions, and error messages in. If Business Central users are synchronised from Microsoft 365, the language settings from Microsoft 365 are used, assuming that the user wants to use the same settings in Office products and Business Central. The administrator can change the default setting, and each user can choose between available languages in the My Settings page. But they will be reset to the value from Microsoft 365 once the next synchronisation is performed.

    If the language setting from Microsoft 365 matches a supported language in Business Central, this language will be chosen for the user.

    Note

    You may have to install a language app for Business Central to properly display the language. Therefore, it is a good practice to install the necessary language apps before any user logs in the first time so that they have a good experience from their first day. For more information, see the list of supported languages.

  • Region

    Defines how dates and numbers are presented in the Business Central client, such as whether to use European or American date formats, or how to display the decimal sign and thousand separators in amounts. If Business Central users are synchronised from Microsoft 365, the regional settings from Microsoft 365 are used, assuming that the user wants to use the same settings in Office products and Business Central. An administrator or user can change these settings manually in Business Central but they will be reset to the value from Microsoft 365 once the next synchronisation is performed.

  • Time zone

    Defines the time zone in which the user is located. Currently this is not synchronised from Microsoft 365 and must be set manually.

  • Teaching tips

    Starting with 2021 release wave 1, some pages display a teaching tip with a short introduction to the page. Switch off teaching tips if you are not interested in seeing these short introductions when you open the relevant pages. If you switch off teaching tips, you can still open the teaching tip for a specific page by choosing the page title in the top left corner. As an administrator, you can switch off teaching tips for all users, such as if you are in process of onboarding users who are already familiar with Business Central.

Note

If a Microsoft 365 user synchronisation is made while users are logged into Business Central, these users must refresh the browser or log out and back in to Business Central to see a potential different language set by the synchronisation action.

Overview of all user-specific changes

As the administrator, you can get an overview of individual changes to Business Central that each user might have made to various pages in Business Central. As users make changes to their experience in Business Central, these changes will be reflected in the User Personalisations list.

To review or delete user personalisations

  1. Choose the Search for Page or Report icon, enter Personalised Pages, and then choose the related link.
  2. This shows the list of users and their personalised pages. To clear a user's personalisation, click the relevant row, or choose Manage, and then choose Delete.

This deletes the personalisation, and the user's experience of the relevant page returns to the default state.

See Also

Getting Ready for Doing Business
Country/regional availability and supported languages
Changing Language and Locale