Manage Saved Settings for Reports and Batch jobs

When running reports, users are typically presented with a page that lets them select options and set filters to change the data that is included in the generated report. This page is called the request page. A report can include one or more saved settings that users can apply to the report from the request page. Saved settings are basically predefined options and filters. Using saved settings is a fast and reliable way to consistently generate reports that contain the correct data. For more information, see Using Saved Settings.

Note

This topic refers mainly to "report", but similar information applies to batch jobs.

If you have the proper permissions, you can view, create, and modify the saved settings for all reports for all users in a company. You can assign saved settings for a report to individual users or to all users in the company.

To create and modify saved settings for all users

You manage saved settings on the Reports Settings page. There are two ways to open this page:

  • Choose the Lightbulb that opens the Tell Me feature icon, enter Report Settings, and then choose the related link.
  • Open a report, choose the lookup in the Use default values from field, and then choose the Select from full list action.

The page displays all the existing saved settings entries for all users. If there is a user name in the Assigned to field, only that user can use the saved settings for the associated report. If there is a check mark in the Share with all users field, all users can use the saved settings for the report.

From the Report Settings page, you can:

  • Choose the New action to create a new saved settings entry from scratch.
  • Select a saved settings entry from the list, and choose the Copy action to create a copy.
  • Select a saved settings entry from the list, and choose the Edit action to modify a saved settings entry.

Important

Consider the name that you give a saved settings entry. If you create a saved settings entry for all users, and you give it the same name as an existing saved settings entry that is assigned to a specific user only, then that user will not be able to use the saved settings entry that is assigned to everyone. In the Saved Settings section on the request page, the user will see two saved settings entries with the same name. However, no matter which option they choose, the user-specific saved settings entry will be used.

Note

The Saved Settings feature is available only on reports where the SaveValues property of the report's request page is set to Yes. The SaveValues property is set in the development environment.

See Also

Working with Reports, Batch Jobs, and XMLports