Bill Gates, Krysta Svore, Doug Burger, David Pennock--Microsoft Research Faculty Summit to Be Streamed Live July 15

From the ACM Bulletin on this noteworthy event:
”Join us for a broadcast of the Microsoft Research Faculty Summit streamed live from Redmond on Monday, July 15, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. PDT (12:00 to 8:30 p.m. EDT) . This free online event offers highlights, such as the opening and closing keynotes, streamed on location from the Faculty Summit. Plus, you'll hear from leading scientific and academic researchers who are making social and scientific advances-from prediction engines to quantum computing breakthroughs-with the help of technology.

The event will feature such luminaries as:

  • Bill Gates, former Chief Executive and current Chairman of Microsoft
  • Krysta Svore, Researcher and Manager of the Quantum Architectures and Computation Group at Microsoft Research, Redmond, Washington
  • Doug Burger, Director, Client and Cloud Apps, Microsoft Research
  • David Pennock, Principal Researcher and Assistant Managing Director of Microsoft Research, New York City”


The ACM is the world’s largest scientific, innovation, educational, professional association well known for their:
- Learning Center with courses, books, webcasts, podcasts, videos, TechPacks, and more
- Awards (example, ACM Turing Awards, the Nobel Prize of Computing)
- 36 Special Interest Groups (SIGS such as SIGGRAPH)
- 500+ conferences and events
- 75+ journals, newsletters, …
- 1.5 million users of their digital library – my Astana Economic Forum ASTEX talk has more on the digital library

I serve on the ACM Practitioner Board and chair their practitioner board professional development committee which includes the webinar committee and professionalism and certification committee.

Watch for two interviews with the ACM Turing Award recipients for 2013. I will publish them here soon.
Chat with Silvio Micali ACM Turing Award recipient in 2013 (Nobel Prize of Computing); World-renowned distinguished researcher and professor MIT — Part 2 Silvio Micali, the Ford Professor of Engineering at MIT and a Principal Investigator at the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab (CSAIL), is a recipient of the Gödel Prize from ACM SIGACT and EATCS. A Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering, he is the recipient of the RSA Mathematics Award, the Berkeley Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award, and the ISE (Information Security Executive) New England Rising Star Award. Micali is the editor (with Franco Preparata, Paris Kanellakis, Christoff Hoffmann, and Robert Hawkins) of a five-volume series of textbooks, "Advances in Computing Research", and has published more than one hundred scientific papers. Micali is the co-founder and co-leader of the Information and Security Group at CSAIL.

Chat with Shafi Goldwasser ACM Turing Award recipient in 2013 (Nobel Prize of Computing); World-renowned distinguished researcher and professor MIT and Weismann Institute — Part 1
Shafi Goldwasser is the RSA Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, and Principal Investigator at the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab (CSAIL), as well as a professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel. A recipient of the National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, she also won the ACM Grace Murray Hopper Award for outstanding young computer professionals. She has twice won the Gödel Prize presented jointly by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS). She leads the Theory of Computation Group and co-leads the Cryptography and Information Security Group at MIT CSAIL. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Science, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Engineering. She was recognized by the ACM Council on Women in Computing (ACM-W) as the Athena Lecturer, and received the IEEE Piore Award and the Franklin Institute's Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science.