Part 9 - I used to do it this way… Now how do I do it? Administering Exchange 2003 vs. Exchange 2007

To return to part 1 click here

Administrative Tasks - Address Lists

In Exchange 2003, you created and edited address lists by using the Exchange System Manager.


In Exchange 2007, you manage address lists by using the Exchange Management Console or the Exchange Management Shell.

A couple of things about doing this either way:

If you use the Exchange Management Console for this task, the New Address List wizard will guide you through the process of creating and applying the new address list. When you create an address list, you are essentially creating a blank container with settings. The container is not populated with recipients until the address list has been applied.


If you use the Exchange Management Shell, you will use the New-AddressList cmdlet to create the address list and the Update-AddressList cmdlet to apply it.

In Exchange 2007, you can view the members of an address list in the Exchange Management Console by using the New Address List or the Edit Address List wizards. However, if you used the Exchange Management Shell to create the address list, you cannot use the Exchange Management Console to view the members of the list. Instead, you must use the Get-Recipient cmdlet in the Exchange Management Shell.  An example of this would be

Get-Recipient –Filter {AddressListMembership –q ‘<DistinguishedName of Address list>’}

If you just want to modify an existing address list, you would use Set-AddressList.

Administrative Tasks - Diagnostic Logging

In Exchange 2003, you would change the diagnostic logging level by using the EMS or the Registry Editor.


At the time of this writing, in Exchange 2007, there was no way to modify diagnostic logging via the Exchanger Management Console.  However…  You *may* find this useful if you really, really need to have a GUI.  Your results may vary. 

In Exchange 2007, you can determine the logging level by running the Get-EventLogLevel cmdlet, and then configure it by using the Set-EventLogLevel cmdlet.


How to Change Logging Levels for Exchange Processes.

The possible logging levels that you can set are: 0 (Lowest), 1 (Low), 3 (Medium), 5 (High), and 7 (Expert). The default logging level is 0 (Lowest). You should always return the logging level to the default setting after completing your troubleshooting activities.

Next: Part 10 – Administrative Tasks: Mailbox Manager vs. Messaging Records Management