Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 Launched Today: Immediate Website Updates Required for Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 Compatibility

IE8 Today, Microsoft released Windows Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2 in English, German, Simplified Chinese, and Japanese.  We will release Beta 2 in an additional 21 languages* within a month. Because you’re actively engaged in developing and maintaining websites, we want to make you aware of a display issue related to Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2. Upon initial release, browsing in default Internet Explorer 8 Standards mode may cause content written for previous versions of Internet Explorer to display differently than intended. To enable existing content to display as expected, Microsoft is providing a Compatibility View that you can use to view sites that might be affected. This instructs Internet Explorer 8 to display site content as if it were in Internet Explorer 7. This option helps ensure that existing content will continue to display seamlessly in Internet Explorer 8 without requiring any additional code changes. 

Take these steps to implement the required updates and to learn more about the release of Internet Explorer 8:

Internet Explorer 8 offers security, reliability, and interoperability functions that enhance the overall user experience while enabling you to build stronger relationships with customers. Use Internet Explorer 8 to connect with customers by providing access to your services through the Web. Significant security and privacy enhancements help reinforce customer trust of Internet-run businesses. Interoperability improvements offer better integration with your internal technology. And enhanced reliability for Web browsing delivers a more secure platform for business. Learn more about Internet Explorer 8 Beta 2. 

Our partner community is one of the most important sets of relationships that we have.  If you have questions, please send an e-mail to the IE 8 team at You can also visit

*Additional languages are: Arabic, Chinese (Hong Kong), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Italian, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish.