14 new languages announced for Windows 8

February 21 is UNESCO's International Mother Language Day. To mark this, the Windows team are today announcing that Windows 8 will be available in 14 new languages, bringing the total number of languages supported to 109.

The languages announced today are English UK, Punjabi (Pakistan) , Sindhi (Pakistan) , Central Kurdish (Iraq) , Uyghur (People’s Republic of China) , Belarusian (Belarus) , Kinyarwanda (Rwanda) , Tigrinya (Ethiopia) , Tajik (Tajikistan) , Wolof (Senegal) , K’iche’ (Guatemala) , Scottish Gaelic (United Kingdom) , Cherokee (United States) and Valencian (Spain) .

Read the full story on the Windows 8 team blog.

Today is also a great day to check out the full range of language packs, online dictionaries, software development tools and language and translation tools offered by the Microsoft Local Language Program.

In particular, check out these videos to see background stories about making Language Interface Packs for Windows and Office availbable in isiZulu, Bangla, Maori, Georgian, Vietnamese and Alsatian, and the difference it makes to be able to use software in your own language.