Windows 7 now available in five South African languages

The Windows localization team keeps churning out new language versions of Windows 7.

Six new languages – five of them from South Africa - became available this past week:

Languages coming up for Windows 7 in the near future:

Language Country
Amharic Ethiopia
Armenian Armenia
Bengali (Bangladesh) Bangladesh
Dari Afghanistan
Hausa Nigeria
Igbo Nigeria
Kiswahili Kenya
Kyrgyz Kyrgyzstan
Maori New Zealand
Mongolian (Cyrillic) Mongolia
Quechua Peru
Turkmen Turkmenistan
Valencian Spain
Yoruba Nigeria

To see a full list of what’s already available and what’s coming up for Windows 7, check the Windows 7 language download page.


You can get notified about these releases by subscribing to Rob Margel’s blog.

Please note that these “Language Interface Packs” can only be installed on a system that runs an English client version of Windows 7 (or Spanish/Russian for some languages, see full details on the Windows 7 language download page). They are available to download for both 32-bit and 64-bit systems.

The user interface translations for these languages will also be made available on the Microsoft Language Portal site.