Writing...Data Services

Coding and writing about OData and now Windows Azure Mobile Services...

New UWP quickstart project, Mobile Services transition begins, and other Azure Mobile news

It’s been a while since I have been able to post about the goings on with Azure Mobile Apps and...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 05/18/2016

Adding push notification tags from the client--Node.js backend version

In my previous post, I showed how you can enable an Azure Mobile Apps client to add tags to a push...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 04/14/2016

Microsoft acquires Xamarin, plus Node.js backend GA, Cordova client beta, file upload, and more Mobile Apps goodness…

Lots of great stuff has been happening with Azure Mobile Apps and around Microsoft in the past month...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 02/24/2016

Use the Deploy to Azure Button for your Parse Migration

I was thrilled to have participated in assembling the recent guidance to help Parse-hosted app...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 02/01/2016

Adding push notification tags from an Azure Mobile Apps client

When a mobile app registers for push notifications using an Azure App Service Mobile Apps backend,...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 01/22/2016

How to clone a JavaScript backend Mobile Service

The Azure Mobile folks state very clearly that you shouldn’t use a production instance of Azure...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 12/15/2015

Updates to My Cordova Push Sample and new Cordova Push Plugin

UPDATE (11/3/2015): The updates to my Cordova push notification sample has been merged into the...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/28/2015

Making Sense of Cordova Push Notification Options and APIs

Update: (2/6/2016) Updated Mobile Apps support now that a Cordova client is available. Updated:...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/16/2015

New Azure Mobile samples and tutorials

I’m excited to announce that we have some interesting new content and samples published to support...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 07/15/2015

Sign-in to Mobile Services using custom authentication from a Windows client

UPDATE: I have published a Visual Studio solution that is a .NET backend mobile service with custom...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 05/06/2015

Check for expired Azure Mobile Services authentication tokens

When Microsoft Azure Mobile Services was first released, we only had basic guidance for...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 04/27/2015

Azure App Services Mobile Apps and a new One Dev Minute Video for Azure Mobile Services

Things have been quiet recently on my blog, but things have been far from quiet in the world of...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 03/31/2015

Azure Mobile Services Quickstart for Visual Studio Cordova

Since nearly the GA of the service, Mobile Services has had support for a PhoneGap quickstart app...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 01/26/2015

Use Azure to Send Push Notifications to Visual Studio Cordova Apps

Greetings to all…I hope that all of you had as successful an end to 2014 as I did. It’s now 2015,...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 01/05/2015

Epic Saga Final Chapter: Success!! or How to Upload Images to Azure From a Cordova App

This post is the eights post in the series: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 12/15/2014

Using the PhoneGap Developer App with a Cordova for Visual Studio Project

I got an excellent question from a reader on my previous post (The Multi-Device Hybrid Apps...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 12/11/2014

Epic Saga Chapter 7: Wherein I Break Down and Go Hunting for an Android Device that Runs KitKat

This post is the seventh post in the series: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/20/2014

Epic Saga Chapter 6: Wherein I learn to Remotely Build and Run on the iOS Simulator But Am Ultimately Disappointed

This post is the sixth post in the series: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/06/2014

Epic Saga Chapter 5: Wherein I learn to Hate the Android Emulator

This post is the fifth post in the series: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/03/2014

Epic Saga Chapter 4: Wherein I Discover Ripple and the Multi-Device Hybrid Apps Extension for Visual Studio

This post is the fourth post in the series: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/31/2014

Epic Saga Chapter 3: Wherein I Try to Use Eclipse and the Android Emulator to Test My Cordova App

This (shorter-then-usual) post is the third post in the series: Uploading Images from...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/29/2014

Epic Saga Chapter 2: Wherein I try to use an XMLHttpRequest in a Cordova app on my Windows Phone

This post is the second post in the series: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/28/2014

Epic Saga: Uploading Images from PhoneGap/Cordova to Azure Storage using Mobile Services

  • or - If You Want to Create a Cordova App and All You Have is a Windows Phone Device…Good...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/27/2014

The Multi-Device Hybrid Apps extension for Visual Studio Kinda Rocks

NOTE: The CTP3 of this Visual Studio extension (now called Apache Cordova Tools for Visual Studio)...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/24/2014

Send push notifications to authenticated PhoneGap users

Let me start out by letting folks know that feedback from my blog post Push Notifications to...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/15/2014

Exposing a Stored Procedure in a .NET Backend Mobile Service

By default, Azure Mobile Services uses an Azure SQL Database for data storage. We have a new topic...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 09/04/2014

Cool New Mobile Services Content for PhoneGap and .NET Backend

I wanted to do a quick post to highlight some cool new Azure Mobile Services and Azure Notification...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 06/19/2014

Mobile Services .NET Backend: Part 1—Creating the Service and Defining the REST API

Now that support for .NET backend (Web API) in Azure Mobile Services is well on its way, it’s time...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 05/05/2014

OData v4 Ratified and Where WCF Data Services is Headed

I’m a little behind on the OData news front (I blame this on a mountain of //build work I needed to...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 04/07/2014

Mobile Services .NET Backend: Initializers and Model Updates

Note: the default initializers have changed somewhat now that .NET backend has reached the "general...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 03/28/2014

Try Out the New Mobile Services .NET Backend Totally for Free

Hopefully, by now everyone is aware that you can try out Mobile Services in Windows Azure free for...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 03/23/2014

Notification Hubs Plus Mobile Services for Sending Windows Phone Notifications from a .NET Backend Service

NOTE: This blog post is now a bit stale. There is now full Notification Hubs integration with Mobile...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 02/24/2014

Problem Calling POST Service Operations Using the WCF Data Services 5.6.0 Client for Windows Store apps

For quite a while I have been sending POST requests to invoke service operations, as I detailed in...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 12/16/2013

Using the OData Async Extension Method for LoadAsync

I posted a few months back about Phani’s OData async extension methods that convert the begin/end...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 12/09/2013

Time to get the WCF Data Services 5.6.0 RTM Tools

Folks who have recently tried to download and install the OData Client Tools for Windows Store apps...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/18/2013

Revisited: The Story of Pubs, Northwind, and AdventureWorks

Matt Stroshane has recently taken down his Phone to Cloud blog (sad to see that), but he asked me to...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 09/09/2013

New Love for WCF Data Services: Push Notifications

I have just published a new end-to-end sample that demonstrates how to use Windows Azure...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 08/26/2013

Wrong Thread Exception Using Task-Based Extension Methods

I’ve been working on a new Windows Store sample that consumes an OData feed of Northwind data...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 08/12/2013

Windows Azure Posters for Mobile Services and Mobile Gaming

There are several cool new “infographic”-style posters out for Windows Azure—I was...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 07/12/2013

Great new samples and tutorials for Mobile Services integration scenarios

I just wanted to let everyone know that Paolo Salvatori, one of the rock stars on the Customer...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 07/11/2013

Extending the OData Async Extensions to DataServiceCollection Methods

UPDATED 8/5/2013: Turns out that I didn't have my DataServiceCollection<T> methods defined...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 03/04/2013

I just wanted to take a few minutes to share some exciting new videos and samples-related activity...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 01/24/2013

Mobile Services Custom Parameters in Windows Store apps

Well, it’s now 2013, and I spent some time over the holidays messing around with using custom...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 01/02/2013

Live Connect Single Sign-On from Windows Phone 8 for Mobile Services

I’m super excited that today Microsoft has released an updated version of the Live SDK for...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/16/2012

Mobile Services: request new features, //build// demos, and a new poster

Some interesting things today for fans of Windows Azure Mobile Services, Microsoft’s...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/02/2012

New Mobile Services Data Tutorials for iOS on the Silver Lining blog

Just a quick post today to call out some excellent posts by my compadre Ralph Squillace on using...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 11/01/2012

Windows Phone 8 is Finally Here!

This is a great day for Microsoft’s Windows Phone platform, with the official launch of Windows...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/31/2012

Windows Azure Mobile Services—Now We Are Getting Somewhere

The Windows Azure team just enabled a whole set of new features and functionalities for the...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/16/2012

A Few New OData Things of Interest

There are a couple of interesting news items re. OData and WCF Data Services: WCF Data Services...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 10/01/2012

Visual Basic Version of the Get started with data in Mobile Services Tutorial

Folks have been asking for a Visual Basic version of the Windows Azure Mobile Services quickstart...

Author: Glenn Gailey [MSFT] Date: 09/23/2012

Next>