Leave an organization as a guest user

An Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) B2B guest user can decide to leave an organization at any time if they no longer need to use apps from that organization or maintain any association. A user can leave an organization on their own, without having to contact an administrator.

Note

A guest user can't leave an organization if their account is disabled in either the home tenant or the resource tenant. If their account is disabled, the guest user will need to contact the tenant admin, who can either delete the guest account or enable the guest account so the user can leave the organization.

Leave an organization

To leave an organization, follow these steps.

  1. Go to your Access Panel Profile page by doing one of the following steps:

    • In the Azure portal, click your name in the upper right and select View account.
    • Open your Access Panel, click your name in the upper right, and next to Organizations, select the settings icon (gear).

    Screenshot showing user settings in Access Panel

    Note

    If you’re not already signed in to the organization you want to leave, under Organizations, click the Sign in to leave organization link next to the organization’s name. After you’re signed in, click your name again in the upper right and next to Organizations, select the settings icon (gear).

  2. Under Organizations, find the organization that you want to leave, and select Leave organization.

    Screenshot showing Leave organization option in the user interface

  3. When asked to confirm, select Leave.

Account removal

When a user leaves an organization, the user account is "soft deleted" in the directory. By default, the user object moves to the Deleted users area in Azure AD but isn't permanently deleted for 30 days. This soft deletion enables the administrator to restore the user account (including groups and permissions), if the user makes a request to restore the account within the 30-day period.

If desired, a tenant administrator can permanently delete the account at any time during the 30-day period. To do this:

  1. In the Azure portal, select Azure Active Directory.
  2. Under Manage, select Users.
  3. Select Deleted users.
  4. Select the check box next to a deleted user, and then select Delete permanently.

If you permanently delete a user, this action is irrevocable.

Note

For information about viewing or deleting personal data, see Azure Data Subject Requests for the GDPR. For more information about GDPR, see the GDPR section of the Service Trust portal.

Next steps