Supported languages in Azure Functions

This article explains the levels of support offered for languages that you can use with Azure Functions. It also describes strategies for creating functions using languages not natively supported.

Levels of support

There are two levels of support:

  • Generally available (GA) - Fully supported and approved for production use.
  • Preview - Not yet supported but is expected to reach GA status in the future.

Languages by runtime version

Three versions of the Azure Functions runtime are available. The following table shows which languages are supported in each runtime version.

Language 1.x 2.x 3.x
C# GA (.NET Framework 4.7) GA (.NET Core 2.2) GA (.NET Core 3.1)
JavaScript GA (Node 6) GA (Node 10 & 8) GA (Node 12 & 11)
F# GA (.NET Framework 4.7) GA (.NET Core 2.2) GA (.NET Core 3.1)
Java N/A GA (Java 8) GA (Java 111 & 8)
PowerShell N/A GA (PowerShell Core 6) GA (PowerShell 7 & Core 6)
Python N/A GA (Python 3.7 & 3.6) GA (Python 3.8, 3.7, & 3.6)
TypeScript N/A GA2 GA2

1 Language version support is currently in preview.
2 Supported through transpiling to JavaScript.

For information about planned changes to language support, see Azure roadmap.

Custom handlers (preview)

Custom handlers are lightweight web servers that receive events from the Azure Functions host. Any language that supports HTTP primitives can implement a custom handler. This means that custom handlers can be use to create functions in languages that aren't officially supported. To learn more, see Azure Functions custom handlers (preview).

Language extensibility

Starting with version 2.x, the runtime is designed to offer language extensibility. The JavaScript and Java languages in the 2.x runtime are built with this extensibility.

Next steps

To learn more about how to develop functions in the supported languages, see the following resources: