How to scale encoding with .NET SDK



Make sure to review the Overview to get more information about scaling media processing.

To change the reserved unit type and the number of encoding reserved units using .NET SDK, do the following:

IEncodingReservedUnit encodingS1ReservedUnit = _context.EncodingReservedUnits.FirstOrDefault();
encodingS1ReservedUnit.ReservedUnitType = ReservedUnitType.Basic; // Corresponds to S1
Console.WriteLine("Reserved Unit Type: {0}", encodingS1ReservedUnit.ReservedUnitType);

encodingS1ReservedUnit.CurrentReservedUnits = 2;

Console.WriteLine("Number of reserved units: {0}", encodingS1ReservedUnit.CurrentReservedUnits);

Opening a Support Ticket

By default every Media Services account can scale to up to 10 S2 or S3 Media Reserved Units (MRUs) or 25 S1 MRUs, and 5 On-Demand Streaming Reserved Units. You can request a higher limit by opening a support ticket.

Media Services learning paths

Media Services v3 (latest)

Check out the latest version of Azure Media Services!

Media Services v2 (legacy)

Provide feedback

Use the User Voice forum to provide feedback and make suggestions on how to improve Azure Media Services. You also can go directly to one of the following categories: