Canceling and deleting Azure Import/Export jobs
To request that a job be canceled before it is in the
Packaging state, call the Update Job Properties operation and set the
CancelRequested element to
true. The job is canceled on a best-effort basis. If drives are in the process of transferring data, data may continue to be transferred even after cancellation has been requested.
A canceled job is moved to the
Completed state and is kept for 90 days, at which point it is deleted.
To delete a job, call the Delete Job operation before the job has shipped (that is, while the job is in the
Creating state). You can also delete a job when it is in the
Completed state. After a job is deleted, its information and status are no longer accessible via the REST API or the Azure portal.
Deleting personal information
This article provides steps for how to delete personal data from the device or service and can be used to support your obligations under the GDPR. If you’re looking for general info about GDPR, see the GDPR section of the Service Trust portal.
Personal information is relevant to the import/export service (via the portal and API) during import and export operations. Data used during these processes include:
- Contact name
- Phone number
- Street address
- Zip/postal code
- Drive ID
- Carrier account number
- Shipping tracking number
When an import/export job is created, users provide contact information and a shipping address. Personal information is stored in up to two different locations: in the job and optionally in the portal settings. Personal information is only stored in portal settings if you check the checkbox labeled, Save carrier and return address as default during the Return shipping info section of the export process.
Personal contact information may be deleted in the following ways:
Data saved with the job is deleted with the job. Users can delete jobs manually and completed jobs are automatically deleted after 90 days. You can manually delete the jobs via the REST API or the Azure portal. To delete the job in the Azure portal, go to your import/export job, and click Delete from the command bar. For details on how to delete an import/export job via REST API, refer to Delete an import/export job.
Contact information saved in the portal settings may be removed by deleting the portal settings. You can delete portal settings by following these steps:
- Sign in to the Azure portal.
- Click on the Settings icon
- Click Export all settings (to save your current settings to a
- Click Delete all settings and private dashboards to delete all settings including saved contact information.