Availability sets overview

Applies to: ✔️ Linux VMs ✔️ Windows VMs

This article provides you with an overview of the availability features of Azure virtual machines (VMs).

What is an availability set?

An availability set is a logical grouping of VMs that allows Azure to understand how your application is built to provide for redundancy and availability. We recommended that two or more VMs are created within an availability set to provide for a highly available application and to meet the 99.95% Azure SLA. There is no cost for the Availability Set itself, you only pay for each VM instance that you create.

How do availability sets work?

Each virtual machine in your availability set is assigned an update domain and a fault domain by the underlying Azure platform. Each availability set can be configured with up to three fault domains and twenty update domains. Update domains indicate groups of virtual machines and underlying physical hardware that can be rebooted at the same time. When more than five virtual machines are configured within a single availability set with five update domains, the sixth virtual machine is placed into the same update domain as the first virtual machine, the seventh in the same update domain as the second virtual machine, and so on. The order of update domains being rebooted may not proceed sequentially during planned maintenance, but only one update domain is rebooted at a time. A rebooted update domain is given 30 minutes to recover before maintenance is initiated on a different update domain.

Fault domains define the group of virtual machines that share a common power source and network switch. By default, the virtual machines configured within your availability set are separated across up to three fault domains. While placing your virtual machines into an availability set does not protect your application from operating system or application-specific failures, it does limit the impact of potential physical hardware failures, network outages, or power interruptions.

Diagram showing various compute clusters split into fault domains and within those fault domains, we have multiple update domains

VMs are also aligned with disk fault domains. This alignment ensures that all the managed disks attached to a VM are within the same fault domains.

Only VMs with managed disks can be created in a managed availability set. The number of managed disk fault domains varies by region - either two or three managed disk fault domains per region.

Diagram showing how the fault domains for disks and VMs are aligned.

Next steps

You can now start to use these availability and redundancy features to build your Azure environment. For best practices information, see Azure availability best practices.