Why is the Page is Locked from Personalizing?

If there is a lock icon in the Personalizing banner when you open a page (as shown), this means that you are currently prevented from making any more personalization changes to the page in the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client.

Personalize Lock

There can be two reasons for this:

  1. Until now, you have only used the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Windows client to personalize the page.

  2. You have used the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client to personalize the page before, but it was done using a Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2017 or earlier version.

If you want to continue personalizing the page by using the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client, choose the lock icon, and then Unlock.

What Happens When you Unlock the Page

If you choose to unlock the page, the current personalization of the page in the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client will be cleared, meaning the page will go back to its original layout and you will have to start from scratch.

In the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Windows client, the page will remain as it was before and will not be effected by the new changes in the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client. The personalization in the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client and Microsoft Dynamics NAV Windows client becomes separated, so you will now have a personalized version in each client.

In the future, you will personalize the page in the two clients separately. Therefore, the page can potentially look different between the two.

See Also

Personalization Overview
Working with personalization between the Dynamics NAV Windows and Web client
Personalizing Your Workspace by Using the Web Client
Personalizing Your Workspace by Using the Windows Client
Managing Personalization
Working with Dynamics NAV
How to: Change the Role Center