Managing Personalization as an Administrator

Users can personalize their workspace to suit their own preferences. As an administrator, you can control and manage personalization by disabling the ability for users to personalize pages and clearing any page personalizations that users have made.

Disable personalization for a profile

You can prevent all users that belong to a specific profile from being able to personalize their pages.

  1. Choose the Lightbulb that opens the Tell Me feature icon, enter Profile List, and then choose the related link.
  2. Select the profile in the list that you want to modify.
  3. Select the Disable personalization check box, and then choose the OK button.

Clear user personalizations

Clearing page personalization changes the page back to its original layout before any personalization was made. There are two ways to clear the personalizations that users have made to pages: using the Delete User Personalization page and using the User Personalization Card page.

Clear user personalizations by using the Delete User Personalization page

The Delete User Personalization page enables you to clear personalizations on a per-page basis for each user individually.

  1. Choose the Lightbulb that opens the Tell Me feature icon, enter Delete User Personalization, and then choose the related link.

    The page lists all the pages that have been personalized and the user it belongs to.

    Note

    A check mark in the Legacy Personalization columns indicates that the personalization was done in an older version of Business Central, which handled personalization different than it does now. Users who try to personalize these pages are locked from doing so unless they choose to unlock the page. For more information, see Why a page is locked from personalizing.

  2. Select the entry that you want to delete, and then choose the Delete action.

    The user will see the changes the next time they sign-in.

Clear user personalizations by using the User Personalization Card page

The User Personalization Card page enables you to clear the personalization on all pages for specific user. This requires write permission to Table 2000000072 Profile.

  1. Choose the Lightbulb that opens the Tell Me feature icon, enter User Personalization, and then choose the related link.

    The User Personalization page lists all users who potentially have personalized pages. If you cannot find a user in the list, this means that they do not have any personalized pages.

  2. Select the user from the list, and then choose the Edit action.

  3. On the Actions tab, choose Clear Personalized Pages.

    The user will see the changes the next time they sign-in.

See Also

Personalizing Your Workspace
Working with Business Central
Changing Basic Settings
Changing Which Features are Displayed