Category hierarchy types (form)

Applies To: Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R3, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R2, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 Feature Pack, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012

Click Product information management > Setup > Categories > Category hierarchy types.

Use this form to assign a type to a category hierarchy. The type that you assign determines how the category hierarchy appears in Microsoft Dynamics AX. For example, if you assign the procurement category type to a hierarchy, the products from this procurement category hierarchy are displayed in procurement forms such as requests for quotations and purchase requisitions.

Tasks that use this form

Key tasks: Set up a category hierarchy

Key tasks: Set up and maintain procurement category hierarchies

The following table provides descriptions for the controls in this form.




Category hierarchy type

Select a category type from the following options:

  • Procurement category hierarchy – For catalog and purchasing activities. Only one active procurement category hierarchy can be defined for an organization.

  • Sales category hierarchy – For organizing products for sales activities. Only one active sales category hierarchy can be defined for an organization.

  • Commodity code hierarchy – For organizing products based on internal commodity codes for your organization.

  • Derived financial hierarchy – For organizing financial categories that can be derived from account number dimensions.

    This control is available only if the Public Sector configuration key is selected.

Category hierarchy

Select the name of the category hierarchy for this type.

See also

About category hierarchies

Procurement categories (form)

Category hierarchy (form)

Announcements: To see known issues and recent fixes, use Issue search in Microsoft Dynamics Lifecycle Services (LCS).