About the Shared Types Schema

Applies To: Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R2, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 Feature Pack, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012

The shared-types schema defines the enumerationss and extended data types (EDTs) that are used by a document service.

Shared Types

The shared-types schema consolidates common data types into one schema that is imported by all document service schemas. The namespace for the shared-types schema is http://schemas.microsoft.com/dynamics/2008/01/sharedtypes. If you publish a new service that contains a new enumeration or EDT, the shared-types schema is automatically updated. The shared-types schema is included with the Web Services Definition Language (WSDL) file.

If you want to view the shared-types schema, view the schema for any service from either the Inbound ports or the Outbound ports form. To view the shared-types schema, in the Schema form, click View imported schemas. For more information, see the section “Viewing schemas” in Customize service contracts.


If you are providing a document XML Schema Definition (XSD) to an external party, you must include the shared-types schema. This is because the shared-types schema is imported by the XSD. Without the shared-types schema, the external user cannot use the service XSD.

See also

Developing with Services and AIF

Managing integration ports