Removed user appears as "Unknown user" in Microsoft Teams
When a user leaves the company or is removed from Teams, that user's name appears in Teams as "Unknown user." The conversation tab also displays: "Unknown user has been added to the team."
Microsoft is researching this problem and will post more information in this article when the information becomes available.
Still need help? Go to Microsoft Community.