OneDrive retention and deletion
This article describes what happens to a user's OneDrive when you delete the user's Office 365 account for your organization.
Give another user access to a deleted user's OneDrive
When you delete a user in the Microsoft 365 admin center, you can choose what you want to do with the user's product licenses, email, and OneDrive. For more info, see Delete a user from your organization. If you give another user access to the OneDrive, that user will have 30 days by default to access and download the files they want to keep. (To change the retention time, see Set the OneDrive retention for deleted users.) They'll receive an email with a link to these instructions for accessing the deleted user's OneDrive: Copy files from another user's OneDrive.
Configure automatic access delegation
By default, when you delete a user, ownership of the OneDrive is transferred to the user's manager. Follow these steps to check if access delegation is turned on and set a secondary admin in case a user doesn't have a specified manager:
Sign in to https://admin.microsoft.com as a global or SharePoint admin. (If you see a message that you don't have permission to access the page, you don't have Office 365 administrator permissions in your organization.)
In the left pane, choose Admin centers > SharePoint. If this opens the new SharePoint admin center, select Classic SharePoint admin center in the left pane.
Select user profiles in the left pane.
Under My Site Settings, select Setup My Sites.
Next to My Site Cleanup, make sure Enable access delegation is selected.
We recommend that you also specify a secondary owner account in the My Site Cleanup section. This account will be the appointed owner of the OneDrive if the user's manager isn't set in Azure AD. Email notifications will also be sent to the secondary owner account when the value is populated.
If a manager or secondary owner isn't set for the user, or if access delegation is disabled, OneDrive will follow the deletion process described in the next section. However, email messages won't be sent automatically.
The OneDrive deletion process
A user is deleted from the Microsoft 365 admin center or is removed through Active Directory synchronization.
The account deletion is synchronized to SharePoint Online.
The OneDrive Clean Up Job runs, and the OneDrive is marked for deletion. The deleted user will appear in the Microsoft 365 admin center for 30 days. The default retention period for OneDrive is also 30 days, but you can change this in the OneDrive admin center (see Set the OneDrive retention for deleted users) or by using the -OrphanedPersonalSitesRetentionPeriod parameter for the Set-SPOTenant cmdlet in the SharePoint Online Management Shell. For more information about using this cmdlet, see Set-SPOTenant.
If a manager is specified for the deleted account, the manager will receive an email telling them they have access to the OneDrive, and that the OneDrive will be deleted at the end of the retention period.
If a manager isn't specified for the user account, but a secondary owner was entered in the SharePoint admin center, the secondary owner will receive an email telling them they have access to the OneDrive, and that the OneDrive will be deleted at the end of the retention period.
Seven days before the retention period expires, a second email will be sent to the manager or secondary owner as a reminder that the OneDrive will be deleted in seven days.
After seven days, the OneDrive for the deleted user is sent to the site collection recycle bin, where it is kept for 93 days. During this time, users will no longer be able to access any shared content in the OneDrive. To restore the OneDrive, you need to use PowerShell. For info, see Restore a deleted OneDrive.
The Recycle Bin is not indexed and therefore searches do not find content there. This means that an eDiscovery hold can't locate any content in the Recycle Bin in order to hold it.
Retention policies always take precedence to the standard OneDrive deletion process, so content included in a policy could be deleted before 30 days or retained for longer than the OneDrive retention. For more info, see Overview of retention policies. Likewise, if a OneDrive is put on hold as part of an eDiscovery case, managers and secondary owners will be sent email about the pending deletion, but the OneDrive won't be deleted until the hold is removed. The retention period for cleanup of OneDrive begins when a user account is deleted from Azure Active Directory. No other action will cause the cleanup process to occur including disablement of a user account or removal of a user's license. For more information, see Remove licenses from users in Office 365 for business.