__int8, __int16, __int32, __int64


The latest version of this topic can be found at __int8, __int16, __int32, __int64.

Microsoft Specific
Microsoft C/C++ features support for sized integer types. You can declare 8-, 16-, 32-, or 64-bit integer variables by using the __intn type specifier, where n is 8, 16, 32, or 64.

The following example declares one variable for each of these types of sized integers:

__int8 nSmall;      // Declares 8-bit integer  
__int16 nMedium;    // Declares 16-bit integer  
__int32 nLarge;     // Declares 32-bit integer  
__int64 nHuge;      // Declares 64-bit integer  

The types __int8, __int16, and __int32 are synonyms for the ANSI types that have the same size, and are useful for writing portable code that behaves identically across multiple platforms. The __int8 data type is synonymous with type char, __int16 is synonymous with type short, and __int32 is synonymous with type int. The __int64 type has no ANSI equivalent.


The following sample shows that an __intxx parameter will be promoted to int:

// sized_int_types.cpp  
#include <stdio.h>  
void func
(int i) {  
    printf_s("%s\n", __FUNCTION__);  
int main()  
    __int8 i8 = 100;  
(i8);   // no void func(__int8 i8) function  
                // __int8 will be promoted to int  

END Microsoft Specific

See Also

Fundamental Types
Data Type Ranges