RoleTailored Architecture

RoleTailored architecture components are new with Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009. They work together to make the product more flexible, efficient, scalable, and secure, while also improving the user experience.

The Three Tiers of the RoleTailored Architecture

The RoleTailored architecture is a three-tiered architecture which contains the following levels:

  • Presentation level (RoleTailored client)

  • Business logic and communication level (Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server)

  • Data level (SQL Server database)

The different tiers can be installed on different computers. You can have multiple instances of any of the components (though usually not on the same computer): multiple clients, multiple servers, and multiple database servers.

Here's a simple installation with two SQL Server database computers, each associated with a single Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server computer, each of which in turn supports two Microsoft Dynamics NAV RoleTailored clients:

The RoleTailored architecture.

RoleTailored Architecture Components

The components that make up the RoleTailored architecture in Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 are:


All RoleTailored components in an organization must be from the same version and build of Microsoft Dynamics NAV for the software to run correctly.

Compatible with Classic Architecture

The RoleTailored architecture and the Classic architecture are not mutually exclusive. In fact, the Classic client remains an essential component for developing and administering Microsoft Dynamics NAV applications. For example, you must use the Classic client to upload your Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 license file.

Companies migrating from Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 typically migrate applications and users to the RoleTailored architecture over time, as resources and needs dictate. The two architectures can be used side-by-side without problems.

See Also


Classic Architecture