Delete or restore users

 

When a user no longer needs their Microsoft Office 365 for professionals and small businesses user account, such as when they leave the organization, you should delete the user account. Deleting the user account frees the Office 365 licenses assigned to it, and ensures that unauthorized persons do not continue to use the account. For more information about how to remove licenses from users, see Manage licenses.

When you delete a user account, the account becomes inactive. However, for approximately 30 days after you have deleted it, you can restore it. When you restore an account, you may encounter conflicts with user names or proxy addresses. You also must ensure that there are Office 365 licenses available to assign to accounts before you restore them.

This topic explains how to delete a user account, how to restore a user account, and how to resolve conflicts when restoring accounts.

What do you want to do?

  • Delete one or more users

  • Restore one or more users

  • Restore a user with a user name conflict

  • Restore a user with a proxy address conflict

Delete one or more users

  1. In the header, click Admin.

  2. On the Admin page, in the left pane, under Management, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, select the check box next to the user or users that you want to delete, and then click Delete.

  4. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.

Restore one or more users

When you restore a user account within 30 days after deleting it, the user account and all associated data are restored. The user can sign in to Office 365 with the same user ID, their mailbox is fully restored, and they have access to all services they previously accessed.

Deleted user accounts are listed on the Deleted tab of the Users page.

  1. In the header, click Admin.

  2. On the Admin page, in the left pane, under Management, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, click the Deleted tab.

  4. On the Deleted page, select the check box next to the user or users that you want to restore, and then click Restore.

  5. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.

Restore a user with a user name conflict

A user name conflict occurs when an administrator deletes a user account, creates a new user account with the same user name (either for the same user or another user with a similar name), and later tries to restore the deleted account.

To resolve a user name conflict, you can either replace the active user account with the one that you are restoring, or assign a different user name to the account that you are restoring so that there are not two accounts with the same user name.

To restore a user with a user name conflict, follow these steps.

  1. In the header, click Admin.

  2. On the Admin page, in the left pane, under Management, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, click the Deleted tab.

  4. On the Deleted page, select the check box next to the user or users that you want to restore, and then click Restore.

    Note

    If two or more users fail to be restored, an error message advises you that the restore operation failed for some users. You can view the log to see which users were not restored. You must restore the failed accounts one at a time.

  5. On the User name conflict page, do one of the following:

    • If you want to keep both the restored account and the conflicting active account, click Change the user name of the user you want to restore, type a new user name, and then click the appropriate domain name.

    • If you want to remove the active account and replace it with the account that you are restoring, click Replace active user with this deleted user.

  6. Click Submit.

  7. Review the results, and then click Finish.

Restore a user with a proxy address conflict

A proxy address conflict occurs when an administrator deletes a user account that contains a proxy address, assigns the same proxy address to another account, and then tries to restore the deleted account.

To restore a user with a proxy address conflict, follow these steps.

  1. In the header, click Admin.

  2. On the Admin page, in the left pane, under Management, click Users.

  3. On the Users page, click the Deleted tab.

  4. On the Deleted page, select the check box next to the user or users that you want to restore, and then click Restore.

    Note

    If two or more users fail to be restored, an error message advises you that the restore operation failed for some users. You can view the log to see which users were not restored. You must restore the failed accounts one at a time.

  5. On the Resolve proxy address conflict page, if you want to restore the user account and delete the proxy addresses attached to that account, click Submit.

    Note

    If a user account contains more than one error that prevents you from restoring it, the Resolve proxy address conflict page displays a Next button instead of a Submit button. Click Next to resolve the error on the next page.

  6. Review the results, and then click Finish.

See Also

Create or edit users
Manage licenses