Reliability Service Management Function

Published: April 25, 2008   |   Updated: October 10, 2008


Position of the Reliability SMF Within the MOF IT Service Lifecycle

The MOF IT service lifecycle encompasses all of the activities and processes involved in managing an IT service: its conception, development, operation, maintenance, and—ultimately—its retirement. MOF organizes these activities and processes into Service Management Functions (SMFs), which are grouped together in lifecycle phases. Each SMF is anchored within a lifecycle phase and contains a unique set of goals and outcomes supporting the objectives of that phase. The SMFs can be used as stand-alone sets of processes, but it is when SMFs are used together that they are most effective in ensuring service delivery at the desired quality and risk leveutls.

The Reliability SMF belongs to the Plan Phase of the MOF IT service lifecycle. The following figure shows the place of the Reliability SMF within the Plan Phase, as well as the location of the Plan Phase within the IT service lifecycle.


Figure 1. Position of the Business/IT Alignment SMF within the IT service lifecycle

Before you use this SMF, you may want to read the following MOF 4.0 guidance to learn more about the MOF IT service lifecycle and the Plan Phase:

Why Use the Reliability SMF?

This SMF should be useful for anyone who wants to understand, set targets, and measure IT service reliability.

It addresses creating plans for the following:

  • Confidentiality
  • Integrity
  • Availability
  • Continuity
  • Capacity