Applies To: Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2

WindowColor specifies the color of the window borders and taskbar.


  • In Windows® 8 and Windows Server® 2012, WindowColor specifies the color of the window borders and taskbar.

    Predefined colors are Automatic, Color 1, Color 2, Color 3, Color 4, Color 5, Color 6, Color 7, Color 8, Color 9, Color 10, Color 11, Color 12, Color 13, Color 14, and Color 15.

    The default value is Automatic, meaning a color that is harmonious with the color palette of the desktop wallpaper will be chosen.

    Here are samples of the color choices mapped to the corresponding number.

  • In Windows® 7 and Windows Server® 2008 R2, WindowColor specifies a predefined color of window glass and color effects.

    Predefined colors include: Sky, Twilight, Sea, Leaf, Lime, Sun, Pumpkin, Ruby, Fuchsia, Blush, Violet, Lavender, Taupe, Chocolate, Slate, and Frost.

    The default value is Sky.

Valid Configuration Passes





Parent Hierarchy

Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup | Themes | WindowColor

Applies To

For a list of the Windows® editions and architectures that this component supports, see Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup.

XML Examples

The following XML output shows how to set the default color theme to Color 11.

   <WindowColor>Color 11</WindowColor>

See Also