Configuring Internet Sites and Services

Applies To: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2003 with SP1

Internet Information Services (IIS) provides four Internet services: the World Wide Web Publishing Service (WWW service) for hosting Internet and intranet content, the File Transfer Protocol (FTP) service for hosting sites from which users can upload and download files, the Network News Transfer Protocol (NNTP) service for hosting discussion groups, and the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) service for sending and receiving e-mail messages. The WWW service is installed by default. Otherwise, install only the services that you need. After you install IIS–based Internet services, you can create sites or virtual servers, configure properties and security settings, and set up components to further customize your server.

In This Section

DNS Overview_IIS_SP1_TechRef

Configuring Web Sites in IIS 6.0

Configuring FTP Sites

Configuring the NNTP Service

Configuring the SMTP Service

Additional Resources for Configuring Sites and Services in IIS 6.0