Install Failover Clustering

Applies To: Windows Server 2008

You can install Failover Clustering on Windows Server 2008 Enterprise or Windows Server 2008 Datacenter by using the Add Features command from Initial Configuration Tasks or from Server Manager.

Membership in the local Administrators group, or equivalent, is the minimum required to complete this procedure. Review details about using the appropriate accounts and group memberships at Local and Domain Default Groups (

To install the failover cluster feature

  1. If you recently installed Windows Server 2008 on the server and the Initial Configuration Tasks interface is displayed, under Customize This Server, click Add features. (Skip to Step 3.)

  2. If Initial Configuration Tasks is not displayed, add the feature through Server Manager:

    • If Server Manager is already running, under Features Summary, click Add Features.

    • If Server Manager is not running, click Start, click Administrative Tools, click Server Manager, and then, if prompted for permission to continue, click Continue. Then, under Features Summary, click Add Features.

  3. In the Add Features Wizard, click Failover Clustering and then click Install.

  4. When the wizard finishes, close it.

  5. Repeat the process for each server that you want to include in the cluster.

Additional considerations

  • The Failover Clustering feature is included in Windows Server 2008 Enterprise and Windows Server 2008 Datacenter. It is not included in Windows Server 2008 Standard or Windows Web Server 2008.

Additional references