Review DFS Namespaces Client Requirements

Applies To: Windows Server 2008

The following operating systems include full support for DFS Namespaces, including support for client failback to the preferred folder target:

  • Windows Server 2008

  • Windows Vista Business, Windows Vista Enterprise, Windows Vista Ultimate

  • Windows Server 2003 R2

  • Windows Storage Server 2003 R2

  • Windows Server 2003 with SP2, or SP1 and the Windows Server 2003 client failback hotfix

  • Windows XP Professional with SP3, or SP2 and the Windows XP client failback hotfix

These hotfixes are described in article 898900 in the Microsoft Knowledge Base (

Users who are running the following operating systems can access namespaces, but if a folder target becomes unavailable and then later comes back online, the computer will not fail back (return) to the preferred folder target.

  • Windows Storage Server 2003

  • Windows XP Professional

  • Windows Preinstallation Environment (Windows PE)

    (Windows PE can access stand-alone namespaces, but it cannot access domain-based namespaces.)

  • Windows 2000 Server

  • Windows 2000 Professional

  • Windows NT® Server 4.0 with Service Pack 6a

  • Windows NT Workstation 4.0 with Service Pack 6a

Additional references