DFS-N: Failover Clustering should be enabled on the server hosting the following standalone namespace

Published: April 27, 2010

Updated: July 14, 2010

Applies To: Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012

This topic is intended to address a specific issue identified by a Best Practices Analyzer scan. You should apply the information in this topic only to computers that have had the File Services Best Practices Analyzer run against them and are experiencing the issue addressed by this topic. For more information about best practices and scans, see Best Practices Analyzer.

Operating System

Windows Server 2008 R2


File Services






Failover Clustering is not enabled on the server hosting the following standalone namespace:


If the namespace server fails, client computers will not be able to receive new referrals to folder targets, which limits their ability to use the following namespace:


Enable Failover Clustering on the server that is hosting the following standalone namespace:

To increase the availability of the standalone namespace, you can host the namespace on a failover cluster. To setup a failover cluster, see Checklist: Create a Clustered File Server.