SharePoint workflow object model

Get a brief introduction to the workflow object model in SharePoint.

SharePoint workflow object model

The SharePoint object model is built on top of the .NET Framework 4 object model for Windows Workflow Foundation 4, but with innovations that enable workflow functionality in SharePoint generally, and in SharePoint Add-ins in particular. The native .NET Framework 4 object model for Windows Workflow Foundation 4 is located in the .NET Framework System.Workflow namespaces.

One way to think of the SharePoint workflow object model is as a set of workflow services. There are four services:

  • Instance management service: Manages workflow instances and their execution.

  • Deployment service: Manages the deployment of workflow definitions.

  • Interop service: Manages the interop bridge for supporting legacy workflows.

  • Messaging service: Manages message queuing and transport.

SharePoint workflow namespaces

The SharePoint workflow object model, on the other hand, is contained in ten namespaces: five of them are SharePoint namespaces, and five others are Microsoft Office namespaces.

Microsoft.SharePoint namespaces:

Microsoft.Office namespaces:

SharePoint workflow schemas

Reference content for SharePoint schemas is contained in the reference node entitled Workflow schemas, and contain the following:

See also