Overview

Admins can use Universal Print to view and manage users and user groups that have access to the printer. Additionally, by using Universal Print, you can make sure that all printer settings and permissions are correct before you make the printer visible and discoverable by others.

Printer permissions

By default, Universal Print grants access to printers only to admins. Admins must explicitly grant users and/or user groups access.

Grant user permissions

You can grant user permissions to printers per printer.

To grant users permissions to printers:

  1. Sign in to the administrative portal.
  2. In the list of printers, select the one you want.
  3. Select Members, and then select the Add button.
  4. Select the users and/or user groups that you want to add. To filter the list, you can add a keyword.
  5. To add the selected members, select the Select button.

Remove user permissions

Like granting user permissions, you can revoke a user's permission on a per printer basis.

To remove user permissions:

  1. Sign in to the administrative portal.
  2. In the list of printers, select the one you want.
  3. Select Members.
  4. Select the users and/or user groups that you want to remove.
  5. To revoke permissions from the selected users or user groups, select the Remove button.

Note

There might be a slight delay between the time the user is removed to when the entire system is in sync with the change.

Share a printer

In Universal Print, a registered printer only lets the system know that the printer exists and is owned by the admins. This is like how a file is owned by an owner, but other people don't know about the file or where the file is. By sharing the printer, the printer is now discoverable by users in your organization that have been granted access to the printer.

Make a printer discoverable

To share and make a printer discoverable:

  1. Sign in to the administrative portal.
  2. In the list of printers, select the one you want.
  3. Select Overview if it's not already selected.
  4. Select the Share Printer button.
  5. Enter the name that you want the printer to be visible as.
  6. Select the Share Printer button.

Hide a previously discoverable printer

If a printer is planned to be decommissioned, admins should delete the printer share to reduce the risk of a user discovering the printer before it's ready to be removed.

To delete the printer share:

  1. Sign in to the administrative portal.
  2. In the list of printers, select the one you want.
  3. Select Overview if it's not already selected.
  4. Select the Delete Printer Share button.
  5. Select OK.

Warning

After the printer share is deleted, the printer is no longer usable by any user, regardless of whether user had already installed the printer on their client device.

Swap printers

If a printer is broken and needs to be swapped out for another physical printer, Universal Print provides a swap printer function. It automatically keeps the existing user permissions and shared printer name, which removes any impact to the client device and the user experience. Users continue to see and use the same printer, as if no changes have happened.

To swap a printer:

  1. Sign in to the administrative portal.
  2. In the list of printers, select the one you want.
  3. Select Overview if it's not already selected.
  4. Select the Swap Printer button.
  5. Select the registered printer that you to swap with.
  6. Select the Swap button.
  7. Select OK.

Unregister a printer

When a printer is ready to be removed from the system, you need to unregister the printer in addition to making sure the printer is no longer shared.

To unregister a printer:

  1. Sign in to the administrative portal.
  2. In the list of printers, select the one you want.
  3. Select Overview if it's not already selected.
  4. Select the Unregister Printer button.
  5. Select OK.

Note

If the Unregister Printer button isn't available, the printer is still shared. Delete the printer share and try again.