ImageScannerColorMode ImageScannerColorMode ImageScannerColorMode ImageScannerColorMode ImageScannerColorMode Enum


Specifies the color modes for the scan source.

public : enum class ImageScannerColorMode
enum class winrt::Windows::Devices::Scanners::ImageScannerColorMode : int32_t
public enum ImageScannerColorMode
Public Enum ImageScannerColorMode
var value = Windows.Devices.Scanners.ImageScannerColorMode.autoColor;

Windows 10 requirements

Device family
Windows Desktop Extension SDK (introduced v10.0.10240.0)
API contract
Windows.Devices.Scanners.ScannerDeviceContract (introduced v1)


AutoColor AutoColor AutoColor AutoColor AutoColor 3

The device automatically detects the right color mode based on the scan content. In this case the decision between color, grayscale and black and white for example relies on the device, and not the app.

Color Color Color Color Color 0

24-bit RGB color (3 channels at 8 bits per channel).

Grayscale Grayscale Grayscale Grayscale Grayscale 1

8 bit or 4 bit grayscale (1 channel at 8 or 4 bits per channel). If the device supports both 4 and 8 bit grayscale the DefaultColorMode property will use 8 bit.

Monochrome Monochrome Monochrome Monochrome Monochrome 2

1 bit bi-tonal, also called monochrome or ‘black and white’ (1 channel at 1 bit per channel).


If the scanner device doesn't support any of these color modes, the current scan source will be considered unavailable and the app won’t be able to scan from there.