Visual Studio Icon Visual Studio 2017 for Mac Preview Release Notes


Developer Community | System Requirements | Compatibility | Distributable Code | Documentation | Blogs | Servicing |


Download

Install the most recent Preview version of Visual Studio for Mac by changing the updater channel to Beta.

Note

This release is not "go-live" and not intended for use on production computers or for creating production code.

To learn more about Visual Studio 2017 for Mac, see Mac System Requirements and Mac Platform Targeting and Compatibility.

To learn more about other related downloads, see the Downloads page.

Feedback

We would love to hear from you! You can report a problem through the Report a Problem option in Visual Studio for Mac IDE. You can track your feedback in the Developer Community portal. For suggestions, let us know through UserVoice.

Release History


Visual Studio 2017 for Mac version 7.7 Preview 1 (7.7.0.977)

released August 23, 2018

Code Editor

For this release we fixed the following Code Editor issues:

F#

Xamarin

This release includes the following bug fixes and improvements for Xamarin:

Xamarin.Android

  • The Device Manager startup time has been optimized.
  • The available system images now reflect the available options for the selected manifest. This enables Android P support for the device manager when the google manifest is selected in the SDK manager.
  • The device manager no longer relies on the JAVA_HOME environment variable being set and it is exported it for processes that require it.
  • Fixed an issue where AVD Rename would crash the app for the custom ANDROID_AVD_HOME case.
  • Fixed an issue where the Device Manager would not indicate there had been system image installation failure.
  • Fixed an issue where jarsigner would be used instead of apksigner.
  • Fixed an issue where it would not be possible to run an Android app in the emulator.
  • Building an Android project when the Java SDK cannot be found is correctly reported as a build error instead of reporting that the Android SDK cannot be found.

Xamarin.iOS

  • Fixed an error updating an Xcode project.
  • Fixed an issue where Automatic iOS provisioning profile dialog did not have clickable links.
  • Fixed an issue where archiving would use a generic iOS device target even if a specific device is selected.

Xamarin.Mac

  • Added support for changing the .NET Framework version to use for "Full Framework" projects. Projects are no longer limited to just .NET 4.5.

Other


Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2017 for Mac version 7.7 Preview 2 (7.7.0.1282)

released September 12, 2018

Code Editor

Project

Accessibility

  • We fixed the following issues:
    • there was a loss of focus when configuring the location of a new project.
    • is not possible to invoke the "Error" window and "Visual Studio Update" window using the keyboard.
    • VoiceOver announces the text typed into password secured fields.
    • VoiceOver focus is not moving to the search results along with the keyboard focus.

.NET Core

Feedback Client

  • We fixed an issue where the Feedback dialog sometimes disappears and is always visible in screenshot.

Web Tools

  • We fixed an issue where pressing Tab doesn't complete the statement in .cshtml files.
  • We fixed an issue where an error is thrown when inserting new line between <div> and </div> in HTML files.

Xamarin

Xamarin.iOS

  • We added support for editing Background Modes for WatchKit Extensions.
  • We added support for CarPlay assets.

Xamarin.Android

  • We fixed an issue where Visual Studio for Mac would fail to show new API levels in Minimum and Target Android version drop downs.
  • We improved the error messaging when no JDK is installed. Previously it was not obvious whether the JDK or the Android SDK was not installed.

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2017 for Mac version 7.7 Preview 3 (7.7.0.1470)

released October 2, 2018

Code Editor

Shell

Web Tools

NuGet

Version Control

Xamarin

Xamarin.iOS

This release adds support for new ARKit 2.0 asset catalog resources: ARReferenceGroup, ARReferenceImage and ARObject.

ARKit 2.0 supports 2D and 3D objects detection. ARReferenceImage is the new asset catalog type for 2D images that can be used and recognized by ARKit. Width and Height of the ARReferenceImage can be set in the asset editor so ARKit can render virtual overlays of the correct dimensions. The ARObject type takes an '.arobject' file that can be created by some ARKit samples.

We also made the following improvements:

Xamarin.Android

  • With Visual Studio 2017 15.9 and Visual Studio for Mac 7.7, we are moving from Oracle's JDK to a lightweight distribution of Open JDK meant for mobile development. Open JDK will be offered as a component to install along with other Visual Studio for Mac updates and you will be prompted to update your JDK settings to use Open JDK once installed.

Other

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2017 for Mac version 7.7 Preview 4 (7.7.0.1738)

released October 24, 2018

Summary of What's New in 7.7 Preview 4

Code Editor

Quick fix improvements

Quick fixes can now be applied by using the light bulb or screwdriver icons in the C# editor, or by pressing Option+Enter when your cursor is on a line of code for which an action is available. You will see an error light bulb if there is a red squiggle indicating an error, and Visual Studio for Mac has a fix available for that error.

New Quick Fix refactoring option
(Figure 1) New Quick Fix refactoring option

We also fixed the following issues in this release.

Project

NuGet

Shell

.NET Core

Web Tools

Publish to folder option for ASP.NET Core projects

When developing ASP.NET Core applications, there are many different options for hosting your application. In previous releases we supported publishing your ASP.NET Core applications to Azure App Services. In this release we are adding the ability to publish ASP.NET Core applications to a folder. After publishing your application to a folder, you can then transfer the files to the remote server, which will host your applications. When you use the new Folder Publish feature, it will automatically create a Publish Profile (.pubxml file in Properties\PublishProfiles). These profiles can be used in either Visual Studio for Mac, Visual Studio 2017 (Windows) or from the command line with dotnet build (or MSBuild).

Menu option to publish folder
(Figure 2) Menu option to publish folder

We also fixed the following issues:

  • We display more informative error messages when new Azure app services fail to provision.
  • We fixed an issue where Visual Studio for Mac fails to debug ASP.NET Core Web App with error "Debug/netcoreapp2.1/testing.dll file was not found. (MSB3030) (docker-compose)".

Xamarin

Xamarin.Forms

Xamarin.iOS

Xamarin.Android

Xamarin.Mac

Accessibility

We fixed several issues with accessibility support:

  • We fixed an issue where typing can be slow in large files when accessibility is enabled.
  • Focus order is inappropriate while navigating to the tree items in the left pane of the "Preferences" window.
  • Focus order is inappropriate while navigating in reverse order in the toolbar.
  • On hitting escape key in "Value Visualizer" window, both the "Value Visualizer" and "Exception Caught" windows are getting closed.
  • Voiceover doesn't announce the name of the close button in the pop up dialogs.
  • Voiceover announces the controltype of "General" heading in "Choose a template for your new project" dialog inappropriately.
  • Voiceover doesn't announce the relation between each of the category and the options under it in "Project Categories" table.

Activation

Other

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2017 for Mac version 7.7 Preview 5 (7.7.0.1829)

released November 7, 2018

Summary of What's New in 7.7 Preview 5

Code Editor

Shell

Version Control

  • We fixed an issue where the text on the Git credentials pop up window was formatted incorrectly.

Project System

.NET Core

Docker

Xamarin

Xamarin.Android

Xamarin.Forms

Other


Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2017 for Mac version 7.7 Preview 6 (7.7.0.1847)

released November 19, 2018

Summary of What's New in 7.7 Preview 6

Code Editor

  • We fixed an issue where code refactoring providers would crash.
  • We fixed an issue where renaming public types would fail.
  • We fixed an issue where a matching brace is inserted even though Insert matching brace option is disabled.
  • We fixed an issue where the code issue icon displayed as a wrench, rather than a light bulb, for removing Using directives.

Shell

  • We fixed an issue where the InfoBar incorrectly adds a hyphen to the end of the displayed text.

Web Tools

  • We fixed an issue where the Add Docker command could fail with a NullReferenceException.

Xamarin

Xamarin.Forms


Team Foundation version control extension – Release Notes

Team Foundation version control support is available as an extension for Visual Studio for Mac. For more information on installing and using the extension, see Connecting to Team Foundation version control.

0.3.2

Released 7/6/2018

Implemented enhancements:

  • Added functionality to change the paths of a WorkingFolder in a Workspace.
  • Added hightlights filtering projects or paths.
  • Improved the amount and details of the feedback messages, including, but not limited to: validations and errors.
  • Minor UI changes.

Fixed bugs:

  • Fixed critical bug obtaining the list of projects from a collection on some TFS On premise servers.
  • Fixed critical bug getting a bad behavior of the version control menu with a Git project and the TFS addin installed.
  • Fixed bug loading remote workspaces.

0.3.1

Released 6/28/2018

Implemented enhancements:

  • Improved Source Explorer experience. The Refresh button has been removed since everything is now refreshed automatically.
  • Simplified workspaces creation process.
  • Minor UI changes.

Fixed bugs:

  • Fixed bug with folders validation. It could affect the creation of workspaces.

0.3

Released 6/27/2018

Implemented enhancements:

  • Improved project filter. Added option to filter by server URL and username.
  • Improved Source Explorer loading time.
  • Improvements to the UI refresh process in Source Explorer. Some of the UI elements that have been improved are: The loading indicator and the enable/disable buttons).
  • Added more options to Source Explorer like open folders in Finder, etc.
  • Improved Work Items loading time.
  • Changes in some literals to adapt TFVC branding.
  • More validations: check if the workspace local path exists, etc.
  • Minor UI changes.

Fixed bugs:

  • Added workspace cache to avoid unnecessary request validating project (big performance improvement).
  • Fixed bug opening Source Explorer.
  • Fixed bug creating workspaces. The workspace creation takes some time, moved to another thread.
  • Fixed bug launching OAuth dialog from Source Explorer.
  • Fixed bug relating to adding new files from Source Explorer when there were not any working folder specified in the workspace.
  • Fixed some incorrect literals.
  • Fixed bug with focus on Open from Source Control dialog.
  • Fixed bug that refreshed Source Explorer content after creating a new workspace.

0.2.1

Released 6/11/2018

Fixed bugs:

  • Fixed bug detecting if a project is in some of the TFS Servers (performance).

0.2

Released 6/11/2018

Implemented enhancements:

  • New authentication flow.
  • New projects dialog where can easily manage all servers, collections and projects.
  • Added auto discover servers and projects functionality.
  • Added project filter.
  • New dialog where select project paths to map.
  • Added files filter.
  • Added new dialog to create workspaces.
  • Added new option to delete working folders from an existing workspace.
  • Included more detailed forms validation.
  • Improved error management and user feedback. More detailed messages.
  • Improvements in SourceControlExplorer: file types are detected and specific icons are displayed, etc.
  • Improved loading times in SourceControlExplorer.
  • Added new logs option in the Settings.
  • Improvements in addin cache (settings, tokens, etc).
  • Minor UI changes and improvements (loading indicators, etc).

Fixed bugs:

  • Fixed bug authenticating in some TFS Servers using NTLM.
  • Fixed bug creating workspaces related to workspaces cache.
  • Fixed bug refreshing workspace after removing a project.
  • Fixed bug refreshing OAuth token under some conditions.
  • Fixed bug changing Visual Studio theme and minor UI details.
  • Fixed bug getting the workspace owner name.

0.1.1 (Beta)

Released 5/8/2018

Fixed bugs:

  • Fixed bug loading OAuth Webview from some Visual Studio for macOS versions.

0.1 (Beta)

Released 5/8/2018

Implemented enhancements:

  • Basic and OAuth Authentication.
  • Choose server projects.
  • Create, edit and delete Workspaces.
  • SourceControlExplorer.
  • Map and get.
  • Added checkout functionality.
  • Added checkin functionality.
  • Added rename functionality.
  • Added delete folders and files functionality.
  • Added lock and unlock functionality.
  • Added undo changes functionality.

Visual Studio 2017 for Mac Preview Release Notes History

You can view prior Preview versions of Visual Studio 2017 for Mac release notes:


Top of Page