DirectShow Samples

The DirectShow samples are included with the Windows SDK. They are located under the path [SDK Root] \Samples\Multimedia\DirectShow.

The following table lists all of the DirectShow samples provided in the Windows SDK. For instructions on how to build the samples, refer to the documentation provided in the Windows SDK.

If there is additional documentation for a sample, the first column of this table links to it.

Sample Area Description Additional Dependencies
[DirectShow Base Classes](directshow-base-classes.md) Base class library C++ classes and utility functions designed for implementing DirectShow filters.
[AmCap Sample](amcap-sample.md) Capture Video capture application. strmbase.lib
[DVApp Sample](dvapp-sample.md) Capture Digital Video (DV) capture application.
[PlayCap Sample](playcap-sample.md) Capture Simple capture application.
[DMO Demo Sample](dmo-demo-sample.md) DMO Streams audio data from a WAV file through an audio effect DMO. DirectX SDK
DVD Sample DVD Demonstrates basic DVD playback and navigation, plus advanced features such as parental level management, bookmarks, karaoke, and command synchronization.
[InfTee Filter Sample](inftee-filter-sample.md) Filters, miscellaneous Sample implementation of the [Infinite Pin Tee](infinite-pin-tee-filter.md) filter. strmbase.lib
[Metronome Filter Sample](metronome-filter-sample.md) Filters, miscellaneous Shows how to implement a reference clock. strmbase.lib
[PSI Parser Filter Sample](psi-parser-filter-sample.md) Filters, miscellaneous Receives Program Specific Information (PSI) tables from an MPEG-2 transport stream and extracts program information. strmbase.lib
[Dump Filter Sample](dump-filter-sample.md) Filters, renderer Writes media samples receives to a text file. strmbase.lib
SampVid Filter Filters, renderer Video renderer filter. strmbase.lib
[Scope Filter Sample](scope-filter-sample.md) Filters, renderer Displays sound data as wave forms. strmbase.lib
[Async Filter Sample](async-filter-sample.md) Filters, source File reader filter that supports progressive download. strmbase.lib
[Ball Filter Sample](ball-filter-sample.md) Filters, source Video source filter that produces an image of a bouncing ball. strmbase.lib
[Push Source Filters Sample](push-source-filters-sample.md) Filters, source Source filters that provide the following data as a video stream: A single bitmap, a set of bitmaps, a copy of the current desktop image. strmbase.lib
[Synth Filter Sample](synth-filter-sample.md) Filters, source Source filter that generates audio waveforms. This sample demonstrates dynamic graph building. strmbase.lib
[EZRGB24 Filter Sample](ezrgb24-filter-sample.md) Filters, transform Image processing filter. strmbase.lib
[Gargle Filter Sample](gargle-filter-sample.md) Filters, transform Audio effect filter. strmbase.lib
[WavDest Filter Sample](wavdest-filter-sample.md) Filters, transform Writes an audio stream to a WAV file. strmbase.lib
[DMOEnum Sample](dmoenum-sample.md) Miscellaneous Shows how to enumerate [DirectX Media Objects](directx-media-objects.md) (DMOs).
[Mapper Sample](mapper-sample.md) Miscellaneous Shows how to use the [Filter Mapper](filter-mapper.md) to find filters in the registry.
SysEnum Sample Miscellaneous Demonstrates using the [System Device Enumerator](system-device-enumerator.md) to enumerate devices and filters.
[CutScene Sample](cutscene-sample.md) Playback Plays a video file in full-screen mode.
DDrawXCL Sample Playback Plays video in DirectDraw exclusive full-screen mode, using the [IDDrawExclModeVideo](/windows/desktop/api/Strmif/nn-strmif-iddrawexclmodevideo) interface on the [Overlay Mixer](overlay-mixer-filter.md) filter.
DShowPlayer Sample Playback Video playback application.
EVRPlayer Sample Playback Demonstrates how to use the DirectShow EVR filter.
[!Note]
Requires Windows Vista or later.


This sample is available in the Windows SDK for Windows Server 2008 or later.
strmbase.lib
Texture3D9 Sample Playback Draws video on a Microsoft DirectX 9.0 texture surface. strmbase.lib, DirectX SDK
[Ticker Sample](ticker-sample.md) VMR-9 Uses the VMR-9 to blend video and text.
VMR9Allocator Sample VMR-9 Implements a custom allocator-presenter for the VMR-9. strmbase.lib
VMR9Compositor Sample VMR-9 Implements a custom mixer for the VMR-9.
[VMRPlayer Sample](vmrplayer-sample.md) VMR-9 Uses the VMR-9 to blend one or two running videos and a static image.
Watermark Sample VMR-9 Blends a static bitmap onto a video during playback, using the VMR-9.
[Windowless Sample](windowless-sample.md) VMR-9 Demonstrates windowless mode in the VMR-9.

Additional Dependencies

Some of the samples link to the DirectShow base class library. To build these samples, you must first build the base class library. For more information, see DirectShow Base Classes. The base class library is required for all of the sample filters.

A few of the samples also require the DirectX SDK, in addition to the Windows SDK. To build these samples, you must install the DirectX SDK and set the %DXSDK_DIR% environment variable equal to your DirectX SDK installation path.

Many of the DirectShow samples use a set of common headers and source files located in the directrory [SDK Root]\Samples\Multimedia\DirectShow\Common. If you copy a sample folder to another directory, make sure to copy the Common folder as well.

Setting Up the Build Environment