Overview: Change Tokens, Object Types, and Change Types

This content is outdated and is no longer being maintained. It is provided as a courtesy for individuals who are still using these technologies. This page may contain URLs that were valid when originally published, but now link to sites or pages that no longer exist.

Each time the Change Log is queried for changes, it returns a change token. This change token corresponds to a database entry up to which the querying client has been synchronized.

The change token uses the following format:

Enum1*; Enum2; Guid; Time; *ChangeNumber

Where the following values are indicated:

  • EEnum1: Integer corresponding to the changed object type (for example, SPChangeSite, or SPChangeList).

  • EEnum2: Integer corresponding to the changed event type (for example, Add, Delete, or Update.).

  • GGuid: GUID of the object that was changed.

  • TTime: Time the object was changed.

  • CChangeNumber: ID of the EventCache table or the change number.


1; 1; 0ac863f6-3a07-4d5e-bd07-78bebb0a34f1; 633033246547900000; 217

For an incremental synchronization, the client must pass in a change token. If a change token is not passed, the Change Log API returns a batch of 1000 changes, which can then be used for further iterations to get more changes.

Object Types

The Change Log records changes to the following SharePoint objects: Item, List, Web, Site, File, Folder, Alert, User, Group, Contenttype, Field, SecurityPolicy, and Views.

Change Types

The Change Log records the following types of changes: Add, Update, Delete, Rename, Moves, Restore, RoleAdd, RoleUpdate, RoleDelete, AssignmentAdd, AssignmentDelete; SystemModify, MemberAdd, MemberDelete, and Navigation.