August 2011 DST Cumulative Update for Windows operating systems

The August 2011 DST Cumulative Update for Windows operating systems contains the following changes :


  • Newfoundland’s DST start and end times have been updated to 2AM from 12:01 AM. The rest of the Newfoundland time zone schedule is unchanged.

Russian Time Zones:

  • A new time zone has been created for Kaliningrad with displayname “ (UTC+3:00) Kaliningrad”. This time zone does not support Daylight saving time.
  • Support for Daylight Saving time has been discontinued and UTC offsets have been updated for time zones listed in the table below:

Time Zone



Russian Standard Time  

(UTC +3:00) Moscow, St Petersburg, Volgograd

(UTC +4:00) Moscow, St Petersburg, Volgograd

Ekaterinburg Standard Time

(UTC +5:00) Ekaterinburg

(UTC +6:00) Ekaterinburg

N. Central Asia Standard Time

(UTC +6:00) Novosibirsk

(UTC +7:00) Novosibirsk

North Asia Standard Time

(UTC +7:00) Krasnoyarsk

(UTC +8:00) Krasnoyarsk

North Asia East Standard Time

(UTC +8:00) Irkutsk

(UTC +9:00) Irkutsk

Yakutsk Standard Time

(UTC +9:00) Yakutsk

(UTC +10:00) Yakutsk

Vladivostok Standard Time

(UTC +10:00) Vladivostok

(UTC +11:00) Vladivostok

Magadan Standard Time

(UTC +11:00) Magadan

(UTC +12:00) Magadan


In addition to these changes, the August DST update rolls up these previously released hotfixes:


For more information on these adjustments, refer to this Microsoft KnowledgeBase article: