SecurityManager.PolicyHierarchy Method



This API is now obsolete.

Provides an enumerator to access the security policy hierarchy by levels, such as computer policy and user policy.

 static System::Collections::IEnumerator ^ PolicyHierarchy();
public static System.Collections.IEnumerator PolicyHierarchy ();
public static System.Collections.IEnumerator PolicyHierarchy ();
[System.Obsolete("This method is obsolete and will be removed in a future release of the .NET Framework. See for more information.")]
public static System.Collections.IEnumerator PolicyHierarchy ();
static member PolicyHierarchy : unit -> System.Collections.IEnumerator
Public Shared Function PolicyHierarchy () As IEnumerator



An enumerator for PolicyLevel objects that compose the security policy hierarchy.



This method uses code access security (CAS) policy, which is obsolete in the .NET Framework 4. To enable CAS policy for compatibility with earlier versions of the .NET Framework, use the <legacyCasPolicy> element.

The code that calls this method does not have ControlPolicy.


The returned enumerator provides successive PolicyLevel objects that represent the policy at the respective (machine, user, enterprise, application domain) level of the hierarchy. These objects are the live policy objects; altering these objects can have unpredictable results.

Minimum policy hierarchy consists of a machine level, an enterprise level, and a user level. However, the hierarchy can include additional levels.

Applies to