Deactivate or activate an account or contact

In Customer Engagement, you deactivate an account or contact rather than deleting it. This ensures the integrity of the audit trail associated with that record.

When a deactivated account or contact becomes inactive, it cannot be edited. However, it can still be used to establish new relationships with other records. All relationships created with the deactivated item are still available.

Deactivated accounts can subsequently be reactivated should the need arise.

Deactivate an account or contact

  1. Go to Accounts or Contacts. How do I get there?

  2. Select the active account or contact that you want to deactivate, click or tap Deactivate, and then confirm the deactivation.

Activate an account or contact

  1. Go to Accounts or Contacts. How do I get there?

  2. To view a deactivated account or contact, in the System Views list, select Inactive Accounts or Inactive Contacts.

  3. Select the inactive accounts or contacts you want to activate, click or tap Activate, and then confirm the activation.

See also

Import contacts
Work with accounts and contacts Import accounts, leads, or other data