Defines constants that describe the different update categories.


Member Description Value
Company Company distributing the update. 0
Product Product category under which the update falls. For example, all Windows related updates. 1
ProductFamily Product family under which the update falls. For example, Windows XP. 2


The root category is the company category. The company category can have one or more subcategories known as product family categories. Product family categories contain one or more product categories. For example, the company category for Microsoft is Microsoft Corporation. The Microsoft Corporation category contains the Windows product family category, which in turn contains product categories, such as the Windows Server 2003 family and the Windows XP family.


Server Requires Windows Server 2003 or Windows 2000 Server SP4 and later.

Defined in Microsoft.UpdateServices.Administration.


Requires Microsoft.UpdateServices.Administration (in Microsoft.UpdateServices.Administration.dll).

.NET Framework

Requires .NET Framework 1.1.

See Also

GetUpdateCategories(), IUpdateCategory.ProhibitsSubcategories, IUpdateCategory.ProhibitsUpdates, IUpdateCategory.Type, IUpdateServer.GetRootUpdateCategories