Deactivate a user account in Project Server 2010
Applies to: Project Server 2010
Topic Last Modified: 2012-02-16
Summary: Deactivate user accounts by using the Manage Users page in PWA Server Settings.
At times, you may have to make Microsoft Project Server user accounts unavailable. When you deactivate a user account, that user’s information and data remains in the database, but the user is unavailable for new assignments. The user account is inactive until it is reactivated.
Deactivating a user account means that it can no longer be used to log on to Project Server 2010. Users cannot use this account to send assignment updates, request status reports, or delegate tasks.
Before you deactivate a user account, make sure that the user does not own any projects in Project Server. If the user does own projects, you must transfer ownership of the projects to another user before you deactivate the account. Also, remove all active user delegations for the account that is to be deactivated.
Once a user is deactivated, the Project Manager is prompted to reassign the user’s work. This prompt occurs when the Project Manager opens the project in Microsoft Project Professional 2010.
User accounts, when deactivated, are not actually deleted from the Project Server database. This is to ensure that any relationships that resource might have with project data can be preserved in case the account is reactivated later. The option to delete a user is available in the Database Administration section in Server Settings. However, deactivating a user to preserve data is recommended.
After an account is deactivated, the account cannot access Project Server 2010 until it has been reactivated. The Manage users and groups global permission in Project Server 2010 is required to complete this procedure.
When you are using Active Directory synchronization, Project Server users not found in the Active Directory group being synchronized will be deactivated. If a user is to be removed from the Active Directory directory service but you do not want the account deactivated, select the Prevent Active Directory synchronization for this user check box in the User Authentication section on the Edit User page.
Before you perform this procedure, confirm the following:
You have read Manage users in Project Server 2010.
You have access to Project Server 2010 through the Microsoft Project Web App site.
The user account that you are deactivating truly must be deactivated.
The Manage users and groups global permission in Project Server 2010 is required to complete this procedure.
Deactivate a user account
Use this procedure to deactivate an active Project Server 2010 user account. After this procedure has been performed, the account will be unable to access Project Server 2010 until it has been reactivated.
To deactivate a user account
On the Project Web App home page, in the Quick Launch, click Server Settings.
On the Server Settings page, in the Security section, click Manage Users.
On the Manage Users page, in the Users list, find the user account that you want to deactivate. (You can use the Search box to search for a specific user.) Click the check box next to the user name of the account that you want to deactivate. Note that you can select multiple user accounts.
Click Deactivate Users.
A message box appears and asks for confirmation. Click OK to deactivate the user account or user accounts.