Winsock Architecture (Windows CE 5.0)

Send Feedback

The following illustration shows the architecture in Winsock 2.2.


  • Applications and Services
    Services created by Independent software vendors (ISVs), carriers, and enterprises.
  • Winsock
    A programming interface that provides enhanced capabilities over Winsock 1.1, including installable service providers for additional third-party protocols. Winsock 2.2 also provides protocol independent APIs that concurrently support IPv4 and IPv6 in applications.
  • Transport Service Providers
    The following list shows the service provider types that are in Winsock 2.2:
    • Base Service Provider: Fully implements a protocol. For example, TCPv4 is fully implemented by the WSPM provider that ships with Windows CE. For more information about the built-in service providers that Windows CE provides, see Winsock Service Provider Interface (SPI).
    • Layered Service Provider (LSP): Modifies a transport service provider, and therefore the protocol that it implements, to expand, restrict, or redirect its capabilities. For example, the SSL LSP is in the layer above the WSPM provider in what is called a provider chain. This LSP encrypts and decrypts data before it calls into WSPM. WSPM then sends and receives data using the TCP protocol. You can implement an LSP to extend an existing transport service provider. For more information, see Winsock Service Providers and Layered Protocols and Provider Chains.
  • NDIS
    The standard network driver architecture for all Windows-based OSes.

Winsock supports third-party extensions. If these extensions do not use proper security and authentication procedures, they can compromise the security of a device or local network.

See Also

Winsock Support in Windows CE | Winsock Application Development | Layered Protocols and Provider Chains

Send Feedback on this topic to the authors

Feedback FAQs

© 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.