File Systems

Microsoft® Windows® 2000 supports the NTFS file system, two file allocation table (FAT) file systems (FAT16 and FAT32), the compact disc file system (CDFS), and the Universal Disk Format (UDF). The structures of the volumes formatted by each of these file systems, as well as the way each file system organizes data on the disk, are significantly different. The capabilities and limitations of these file systems must be reviewed to determine their comparative features. The version of NTFS included with Windows 2000 includes reparse points, the change journal, encryption, sparse file support, and several other new features.

In This Chapter

About Windows 2000 File Systems

Comparing FAT16, FAT32, and NTFS

File and Folder Compression

NTFS Recoverability

Features Built on Reparse Points

File System Tools

Additional Resources