Shared Configuration Feature Requirements (IIS 7)

Applies To: Windows 7, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Vista

This topic describes the requirements for configuring the Shared Configuration feature.


See individual procedures for exceptions to these requirements.


The procedures for configuring Shared Configuration can be performed at the following levels in IIS:

  • Web server


The Shared Configuration feature is available only when you use IIS Manager on the local computer and not when you are connected remotely to the computer.

Modules and Handlers

The necessary modules and handlers must be installed on the Web server and enabled at the level at which you perform this procedure.


Modules can be enabled only at the Web server, site, and application levels, but handlers can be enabled at all levels.

The following module is required:

  • None

The following handler is required:

  • None

Required Permissions

If you perform procedures in this section by using IIS Manager, you must be a server administrator.

See Also


Configuring Shared Configuration (IIS 7)