View a List of HTTP Error Responses (IIS 7)

Applies To: Windows 7, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Vista

IIS provides a list of standard HTTP error messages. IIS returns these messages to a client browser if the server cannot return the content requested by the client. For example, when a client using invalid credentials tries to access content but is not authorized to do this, IIS returns a 401 error.

To provide a more user-friendly experience for visitors to your site, you can customize these messages. For more information about how to do this, see Create a Custom HTTP Error Response (IIS 7).

You can sort the list of HTTP error pages by HTTP status code, path, path type, or scope (local or inherited). You can also group HTTP error pages by scope to see which HTTP error messages apply at the current configuration level and which HTTP error messages are inherited from a parent level, or you can group them by path type.


For information about the levels at which you can perform this procedure, and the modules, handlers, and permissions that are required to perform this procedure, see HTTP Error Responses Feature Requirements (IIS 7).

Exceptions to feature requirements

  • None

To view a list of custom error pages

You can perform this procedure by using the user interface (UI), by running Appcmd.exe commands in a command-line window, by editing configuration files directly, or by writing WMI scripts.

User Interface

To Use the UI

  1. Open IIS Manager and navigate to the level you want to manage. For information about opening IIS Manager, see Open IIS Manager (IIS 7). For information about navigating to locations in the UI, see Navigation in IIS Manager (IIS 7).

  2. In Features View, double-click Error Pages.


To view a list of custom errors, use the following syntax:

appcmd list config /section:httpErrors

For more information about Appcmd.exe, see Appcmd.exe (IIS 7).


The procedure in this topic affects the following configuration elements:


For more information about IISĀ 7 configuration, see IIS 7.0: IIS Settings Schema on MSDN.


Use the following WMI classes, methods, or properties to perform this procedure:

  • HttpErrorsSection class (IIS)

  • CustomErrorsSection class (ASP.NET)

For more information about WMI and IIS, see Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) in IIS 7. For more information about the classes, methods, or properties associated with this procedure, see the IIS WMI Provider Reference on the MSDN site.

See Also


Configuring HTTP Error Responses in IIS 7