Set Authorization Manager Options

Applies To: Windows Server 2008


Authorization Manager is available for use in the following versions of Windows: Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8. It is deprecated as of Windows Server 2012 R2 and may be removed in subsequent versions.

Authorization manager can operate in two modes: developer mode and administrator mode.

Administrator mode is the default, but before you can effectively use administrator mode, you need to define an application that includes all of the necessary group, role, operation, and task definitions. You do this in developer mode.

After you set up an application in developer mode, you do not have to use Authorization Manager in developer mode for that application.

To complete the following tasks, you must be in developer mode:

  • Create new authorization stores

  • Create new applications

  • Define or modify operations

  • Change an application name

  • Change the version information for an application

To change between administrator mode and developer mode, use the options dialog box .

Administrators is the minimum group membership required to complete this procedure. Review the details in "Additional considerations" in this topic.

Set Authorization Manager options

  1. If necessary, start Authorization Manager.

  2. In the tree, select the Authorization Manager node (the root node).

  3. In the Action menu, click Options

  4. Click either Developer mode or Administrator mode.

  5. Click OK.

Additional considerations

  • By default, members of the local group Administrators, have sufficient rights and privileges to complete this task. In your environment, security may be managed such that non-administrators have additional rights.

Additional references