Setting the default mount type

Applies To: Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2

To set the type of mount using the Windows interface

  1. Open Services for Network File System: click Start, point to Programs or All Programs, point to Administrative Tools, and then click Services for Network File System (NFS).

  2. If necessary, connect to the computer you want to manage.

  3. Right-click Client for NFS, and then click Properties.

  4. Click the Client Settings tab.

  5. To use soft mounts, select Use soft mounts and specify the number of times that Client for NFS will attempt to make a connection in Number of times to retry. To use hard mounts, select Use hard mounts.

  6. Specify the amount of time between connection attempts in Retry interval.

  7. To save these settings, click Apply.

To set the type of mount using the command line

  1. Open a command prompt with elevated privileges.

  2. At the command prompt, specify the mount type by typing:

    nfsadmin client [ComputerName] config mtype={hard | soft}

  3. Specify the number of soft mount retries by typing:

    nfsadmin client [ComputerName] **config retry=**n

    Argument Description


    The name of the computer that you want to manage.

    mtype={hard | soft}

    The type of mount.


    The number of times Client for NFS will attempt to make a connection for a soft mount. This value must be in the range 1–10. The default value is 1.


To view the complete syntax for this command, at a command prompt, type: nfsadmin client /?

Additional references

Configuring Client for NFS