Surface Hub is a collaboration device designed to be used in meeting spaces by different groups of people. At the end of a meeting, users can tap I'm Done to clean up any sensitive data and prepare the device for the next meeting. Surface Hub will clean up, or reset, the following states:
- Operating system
- User interface
This topic explains what I'm Done resets for each of these states.
When you start apps on Surface Hub, they are stored in memory and data is stored at the application level. Data is available to all users during that session (or meeting) until date is removed or overwritten. When I'm done is selected, Surface Hub application state is cleared out by closing applications, deleting browser history, resetting applications, and removing Skype logs.
Surface Hub closes all visible windows, including Win32 and Universal Windows Platform (UWP) applications. The application close stage uses the multitasking view to query the visible windows. Win32 windows that do not close within a certain timeframe are closed using TerminateProcess.
Delete browser history
Surface Hub uses Delete Browser History (DBH) in Edge to clear Edge history and cached data. This is similar to how a user can clear out their browser history manually, but I'm Done also ensures that application states are cleared and data is removed before the next session, or meeting, starts.
I'm Done resets the state of each application that is installed on the Surface Hub. Resetting an application clears all background tasks, application data, notifications, and user consent dialogs. Applications are returned to their first-run state for the next people that use Surface Hub.
Remove Skype logs
Skype does not store personally-identifiable information on Surface Hub. Information is stored in the Skype service to meet existing Skype for Business guidance. Local Skype logging information is the only data removed when I'm Done is selected. This includes Unified Communications Client Platform (UCCP) logs and media logs.
The operating system hosts a variety of information about the state of the sessions that needs to be cleared after each Surface Hub meeting.
Meeting attendees have access to a limited set of directories on the Surface Hub. When I'm Done is selected, Surface Hub clears these directories:
Surface Hub also clears these directories, since many applications often write to them:
- Public Documents
- Public Music
- Public Videos
- Public Downloads
User credentials that are stored in TokenBroker, PasswordVault, or Credential Manager are cleared when you tap I’m done.
User interface (UI) settings are returned to their default values when I'm Done is selected.
- Reset Quick Actions to default state
- Clear Toast notifications
- Reset volume levels
- Reset sidebar width
- Reset tablet mode layout
Accessibility features and apps are returned to default settings when I'm Done is selected.
- Filter keys
- High contrast
- Sticky keys
- Toggle keys
- Mouse keys
The clipboard is cleared to remove data that was copied to the clipboard during the session.
Frequently asked questions
What happens if I forget to tap I'm Done at the end of a meeting, and someone else uses the Surface Hub later?
Surface Hub only cleans up meeting content when users tap I'm Done. If you leave the meeting without tapping I'm Done, the device will return to the welcome screen after some time. From the welcome screen, users have the option to resume the previous session or start a new one.
Are documents recoverable?
Removing files from the hard drive when I'm Done is selected is just like any other file deletion from a hard disk drive. Third-party software might be able to recover data from the hard disk drive, but file recovery is not a supported feature on Surface Hub. To prevent data loss, always save the data you need before leaving a meeting.
Do the clean-up actions from I'm Done comply with the US Department of Defense clearing and sanitizing standard: DoD 5220.22-M?
No. Currently, the clean-up actions from I'm Done do not comply with this standard.