Add a group rule to assign access levels and extensions

Azure DevOps Services

Azure DevOps includes group-based licensing for Azure Active Directory (Azure AD) groups and Azure DevOps groups. In this article, learn how to add a group rule to assign an access level or extension to a group. Resources in Azure DevOps are assigned to all members of the group. Group rules are also used to add users to team projects and other specific groups, like Contributors, Readers, and Administrators.

When users leave the group, the licenses are freed and returned to your pool. You don't need to automate license management to reflect changes in your organizational structure on a per-user basis.

Note

We recommend that you reevaluate rules regularly on the Group rules tab of the Users page. Clarify whether any group membership changes in Azure AD might affect your organization. Automated reevaluation occurs every six hours and any time the group rule changes.

Prerequisites

To manage licenses and group rules, you must be a Project Collection Administrator (PCA) for the organization. If you're not a member of the Project Collection Administrators group, get added as one. To assign an extension to a user or group, a PCA must first install the extension on the organization.

Add group rule

  1. Sign in to your organization (https://dev.azure.com/{yourorganization}).

  2. Select gear icon Organization settings.

    Open Organization settings

  3. Go to the Permissions tab, and then check the membership of the Project Collection Administrators group.

    Project collection administrators group members

  4. Go to the Users tab, and then select Group rules. This view shows you all of your created group rules. Select Add a group rule.

    Select Add a group rule

  5. Complete the dialog box for the group for which you want to create a rule. Include an access level for the group and any optional project access or extensions for the group. Select Add.

    Complete add a group rule dialog

A notification displays, showing the status and outcome of the rule. If the assignment couldn't be completed (for example, because your organization didn't have enough purchased licenses), select View status to see the details.

Group rule completed

Important

Group rules only apply to users without direct assignments and to users added to the group going forward. Remove direct assignments so the group rules apply to those users.

Manage group members

  1. Select Group rules > > Manage members. Highlight a group rule and select manage members

    Note

    Leave existing automation for managing access levels or extensions for users running as-is (for example, PowerShell). The goal is to reflect the same resources that the automation is applying to those users.

  2. Add members, and then select Add.

    Add group member

When you assign the same access level or extension to a user, the user consumes only one access level or extension. User assignments can be made both directly and through a group. No additional licenses are required.

Verify group rule

  • Verify that the resources are applied to each group and individual user. On the All users tab, highlight a user, and then select Summary.

    Verify user summary for group rule

Remove direct assignments

To manage a user's resources only by the groups that they're in, remove the direct assignments. Resources assigned to a user via individual assignment stay assigned to the user. This assignment stays whether the resources are assigned or taken away from the user's groups.

Note

To enable the new user interface for the New user hub, see Enable preview features.

  1. Sign in to your organization (https://dev.azure.com/{yourorganization}).

  2. Select gear icon Organization settings.

    Open Organization settings

  3. Select the Users tab.

    Select the Users tab

  4. Select all users with resources that should be managed only by groups.

    Select group rules for migration

  5. To confirm that you want to remove the direct assignments, select Remove.

    Remove

Direct assignments are removed from the users.

Note

If a user isn't a member of any groups, then the user isn't affected.