Visual Studio Icon Visual Studio 2019 for Mac Preview Release Notes


Developer Community | System Requirements | Compatibility | Distributable Code | Documentation | Blogs | Servicing


Get the Preview

Important

Get the Preview of Visual Studio 2019 for Mac by updating to the Preview channel.

This release is not "go-live" and not intended for use on production computers or for creating production code.

To learn more about Visual Studio for Mac, see Mac System Requirements and Mac Platform Targeting and Compatibility.

To learn more about other related downloads, see the Downloads page.


What's New in 8.8 Preview

Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8 Preview Releases

Release Highlights

  • Visual Studio for Mac 8.8 Preview 4 adds preview support for Custom .NET Core templates added with dotnet new (Preview features can be enabled in Preferences > Other > Preview Features).
  • Visual Studio for Mac 8.8 Preview 2 adds support for debugging Blazor WebAssembly projects.
  • Visual Studio for Mac 8.8 Preview 2 adds support for accessing Azure DevOps NuGet package sources using the signed in account without the need to use a personal access token (PAT).
  • Visual Studio for Mac 8.8 Preview 1 or newer now support running on the macOS Big Sur developer preview. See Known Issues for additional information.
  • We added functionality to Visual Studio for Mac to warn users when low disk space will degrade the experience.

Known Issues

Refer to the Known Issues section.


Feedback & Suggestions

We would love to hear from you! You can report a problem through the Report a Problem option in Visual Studio for Mac IDE. You can track your feedback, including suggestions, in the Developer Community portal.


Release Notes

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8 Preview 5 (8.8.0.2829)

released October 20, 2020

Shell and Tools

  • We updated NuGet to 5.8 RC.

Source Code Editing

  • We fixed an issue where EventHandler completion didn't work.

Web and Azure

  • We fixed an issue where an invalid development certificate caused an unrecoverable hang.
  • We updated .NET Core to 3.1.403 and 2.1.811

Xamarin

  • The Android SDK manager will now prompt to install Android API 28 if it is not already installed to ensure compatibility with the Xamarin.Forms templates.

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8 Preview 4 (8.8.0.2811)

released October 13, 2020

Debugger

  • We fixed a potential crash/hang after terminating the debugger.
  • We fixed an issue where local variables were not evaluated when debugging a Blazor application with .NET 5.

Project System

Shell and Tools

  • We replaced the "Pad" terminology with "Tool Window" throughout the IDE and updated the top-level View menu.
  • We fixed an issue where the content of the "Reference" dialog was not announced in proper sequence with VoiceOver.
  • We fixed a potential hang in the Assembly Browser.
  • We fixed an issue with encoding inside the integrated Terminal.
  • We fixed an issue where "Find" in the "Replace in Files" dialog replaced the found text.
  • We fixed an issue where Searching in a Directory failed after the second use.

Source Code Editing

Test Tools

Version Control

  • We fixed an issue where the Git configuration dialog blocked use of the IDE and could not be closed.
  • We fixed an issue where the status of a copied then pasted file was not updated properly.

Web and Azure

  • We have added a preview support for Custom .NET Core templates added with dotnet new.
  • We fixed an issue where a Blazor WebAssembly project was not recognized as such with .NET 5 and the Browser selection was missing.
  • We have updated the .NET Core SDK to 3.1.402.

Xamarin

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8 Preview 3 (8.8.0.2120)

released September 14, 2020

Shell and Tools

  • We have ported the Assembly Browser to the new Editor.
  • We have reimplemented the Errors pad and moved the build output to a separate pad.
  • We have improved overall performance and reliability.

Source Code Editing

Version Control

Web and Azure

Xamarin

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8 Preview 2 (8.8.0.1532)

released August 25, 2020

New Features

Debug Blazor WebAssembly projects

Visual Studio for Mac now includes full support for debugging Blazor WebAssembly projects, giving you the option to set breakpoints, watches, navigate your code using step and skip commands, and more.

Examining a watched variable while debugging a Blazor WebAssembly application
Examining a watched variable while debugging a Blazor WebAssembly application

For more information on debugging in Visual Studio for Mac, see Debugging with Visual Studio for Mac.

Web and Azure

  • We added support for .NET 5 preview 8.
  • We added integrated support for accessing NuGet Azure DevOps package sources using the signed in account without requiring a personal access token (PAT).

Bug Fixes

Debugger

Project System

  • We fixed an issue that prevented users from canceling a solution load operation.

Shell and Tools

  • We improved the performance of the Assembly Viewer.

Editor

  • We fixed a problem where new F# projects would not restore and build due to the FSharp.Core NuGet package being unavailable.

Web and Azure

Xamarin

  • We updated the Android SDK Tools path to support the new "cmdline-tools" path.
  • Hot reload updated the minimum required Xamarin.Forms version to 4.6.0.923 when using incremental.

Other

  • We improved startup performance of the IDE.
  • We improved the performance of closing a solution.
  • We fixed an issue where vstool would not return the exact id of an extension which can then be used for disabling/enabling the extension.

Release Notes Icon Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8 Preview 1 (8.8.0.493)

released August 5, 2020

Note

This release of Visual Studio for Mac now supports running on the macOS Big Sur developer beta builds. If you're already on Big Sur and can't use the updater, visit the Visual Studio for Mac website and download the installer.

Editor

Project System

  • We fixed an issue that resulted in an empty properties pad for files when loading AddIn projects.

Shell and Tools

Source Control

Web and Azure

  • We fixed an issue where a new F# test project will display errors and warnings.

Xamarin

Known Issues

The following is a list of all existing known issues in Visual Studio 2019 for Mac version 8.8:

  • After installing the latest .NET 5 SDK, developers of .NET Core 3.1 apps might see an error indicating "The ASP.NET Core developer certificate is in an invalid state.". Running dotnet dev-certs https --clean then dotnet dev-certs https --trust from the Terminal will fix the issue.
  • Loading Blazor WebAssembly projects with .NET 5.0 RC1 is not yet supported.
  • In rare cases, it's possible to be up to date with everything but the .NET Core 3.1.300 SDK. If you enter into this configuration and update to .NET Core 3.1.300 using the updater, the notification to update the .NET Core SDK will not disappear until the IDE is restarted.

Top of Page