Unassign licenses from users
You can unassign licenses from users on either the Active users page, or on the Licenses page. The method you use depends on whether you want to unassign product licenses from specific users or unassign users licenses from a specific product.
As an admin, you can't assign or unassign licenses for a self-service purchase subscription bought by a user in your organization. You can take over a self-service purchase subscription, and then assign or unassign licenses.
Before you begin
- You must be a Global, License, User admin to unassign licenses. For more information, see About Microsoft 365 admin roles.
- You can remove licenses from user accounts with Office 365 PowerShell.
- You can also delete user accounts that were assigned a license to make their license available to other users. When you delete a user account, their license is immediately available to assign to someone else.
Use the Licenses page to unassign licenses
When you use the Licenses page to unassign licenses, you unassign licenses for a specific product for up to 20 users.
- Select the product for which you want to unassign licenses.
- Select the users for which you want to unassign licenses.
- Select Unassign licenses.
- In the Unassign licenses box, select Unassign.
Use the Active users page to unassign licenses
When you use the Active users page to unassign licenses, you unassign product licenses from users.
Unassign licenses from one user
- Select the row of the user that you want to unassign a license for.
- In the right pane, select Licenses and Apps.
- Expand the Licenses section, clear the boxes for the licenses that you want to unassign, then select Save changes.
Unassign licenses from multiple users
- Select the circles next to the names of the users who you want to unassign licenses for.
- At the top, select Manage product licenses.
- In the Manage product licenses pane, select Unassign all > Save changes.
- At the bottom of the pane, select Done.
What happens to a user's data when you remove their license?
- When a license is removed from a user, Exchange online data that is associated with that account is held for 30 days. After the 30-day grace period, the data is deleted and can't be recovered.
- Files saved in OneDrive for Business aren't deleted unless the user is deleted from the Microsoft 365 admin center or is removed through Active Directory synchronization. For more information, see OneDrive retention and deletion.
- When the license is removed, the user's mailbox is no longer searchable by using an eDiscovery tool such as Content Search or Advanced eDiscovery. For more information, see "Searching disconnected or de-licensed mailboxes" in Content Search in Microsoft 365.
- If you have an Enterprise subscription, like Office 365 Enterprise E3, Exchange Online lets you preserve the mailbox data of a deleted user account by using inactive mailboxes. For more information, see Create and manage inactive mailboxes in Exchange Online.
- To learn how to block a user's access to Microsoft 365 data after their license is removed, and how to get access to the data afterwards, see Remove a former employee.
- If you remove a user's license and they still have Office apps installed, they see Unlicensed Product and activation errors in Office when they use Office apps.