Share your bot with other users
Select the version of Power Virtual Agents you're using here:
Share your bot with other users so multiple users can edit, manage, and collaborate on a bot.
You can stop sharing a bot with individual users at any time.
You don't need to share a bot with another user for them to chat with the bot.
See how to make your bot available for users in the Key concepts - Publish your bot topic.
Share a bot
Everyone you share the bot with can view, edit, configure, share, and publish the bot. They can't delete the bot.
You can only share the bot with users who have Microsoft Power Platform licenses. Users who don't have a license can sign up for a free trial so they can edit the bot.
To share a bot, sign in to Power Virtual Agents and select Share at the top of the bot's home page.
Specify the name or email address of each user that you would like to share the bot with.
You can only share a bot with individual users, which means you can't share it with a security group or distribution group in your organization.
You also can't share with users or groups outside of your organization.
Review the user's permissions.
If you want to let users know you've shared the bot with them, select the Send an email invitation to new users check box.
Select Share to share the bot with the new users.
It can take up to 10 minutes for the bot to show up in the shared user's bot list if the user was not previously part of the environment of the shared bot.
Insufficient environment permissions
Users in the environment must have the Environment maker security role before a bot can be shared with them.
System administrators of the environment need to assign the Environment maker security role to the user before you share the bot. If you're a System administrator, you can assign the Environment maker role when you share the bot.
Share Power Automate flows used in a bot
You can add actions to a bot using flows in Power Automate; however flows in a bot aren't automatically shared with other users when sharing a bot.
Users who don't have access to the shared flow can still run it by using the test bot canvas.
To let other users edit or add flows you'll need to share them in Power Automate. You can open flows directly from the topic where the flow is used.
Select View flow details to go to the flow's details page in Power Automate.
Select Edit in the Owners section.
Enter the name or email address of the user you want to give editing permissions to.
Stop sharing a bot
You can stop sharing a bot with a user, and any shared user can stop the bot from being shared with other users, except for the owner. The owner will always have access to the bot.
Sign in to Power Virtual Agents and select Share at the top of the bot's home page.
Select X next to the users that you want to stop sharing the bot with.
Select Share to stop sharing the bot with the user.
Assign environment security roles
If you're a System administrator, you can assign and manage environment security roles when sharing a bot.
The Environment security roles section shows when you share a bot and only if you're a System administrator. It lets you share bots with users who don't have sufficient environment permissions to use Power Virtual Agents.
You must be a System administrator of the environment where the bot is located to view and add security roles.
You can only assign security roles when sharing a bot. You can't remove security roles when sharing. For full security role management, use the Power Platform admin center.
Learn more about security roles and predefined security roles.
Assign the Environment maker security role during bot sharing
You can assign the Environment maker security role when sharing a bot with a user who does not have sufficient environment permissions to run Power Virtual Agents.
When sharing the bot, if the specified user does not have sufficient permissions to use Power Virtual Agents in the environment, you'll be notified that Environment maker security role will be assigned to the user so they can use the bot.
Assign the Bot transcript viewer security role during bot sharing
You can assign the Bot transcript viewer security role to users who don't have conversation transcript access when sharing a bot.
Based on the content and target audience of the bot, you may want to give transcript access only to users who have appropriate privacy training.
Conversation transcript access is managed by environment security roles. After assigning the Bot transcript viewer security role to a user, that user can access conversation transcripts for all bots that they create or are shared with in the environment.
In the default environment, every user has the Bot transcript viewer role assigned by default. We recommend you create an environment for bots that controls which user can view conversation transcripts. Learn more about how to Create a new environment for your bots
When sharing the bot, you can assign the Bot transcript viewer role by selecting the check box.
Manage security roles
Collaborate on bots
After you've shared a bot, everyone can edit the bot's topics.
In the Topics list, you can see who's working on a topic under the Currently editing column. You can hover or click on the person's icon to quickly chat with them in Teams or send them an email.
This can help prevent conflicts if multiple people are working on the same topic.
The list of authors in the Currently editing column is only refreshed when the page is loaded.
A topic's Properties page also shows all the people currently editing a topic, as well as the last time someone saved.
A list of who's editing the page also appears as user icons on the top of the authoring canvas when you've opened a topic for editing.
If an author does not make any changes to the topic, or disconnects their computer or closes the browser window, they are considered to have abandoned the topic. After 30 minutes of inactivity the user will not be identified as editing the topic.
Occasionally, multiple people might make changes to a topic and attempt to save their changes concurrently. For example, you might open and start editing a topic. Your coworker opens the same topic, makes a small change, and saves it. Then, when you've finished editing the topic, you go to save it, only to find yourself in a conflict state.
Power Virtual Agents will detect this and prevent you from overwriting your coworker by prompting you with an option - you can reload the content with the latest changes (discarding your work), or you can save a copy of the topic (keeping your changes in a new, duplicate copy of the topic).
If you save your changes to a new topic, you can then review your coworker's changes and merge the two topics, deleting the copy of the topic once you've finished.